We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food; horrific service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Pipi Pizzas

Fat Pipi Pizzas
89 Revell St, Hokitika, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza, Bakeries
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food; horrific service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Firstly, the pizzas were lovely and lived up to our expectations however the service was awful. We entered and waited at the door for someone to seat us, when no one came to us or even looked at us we sat down at the nearest table. We got our own menus and went to the counter to order, we were then told that we had sat in table which the waitress was about to reserve for another party, there was no reservation sign on the table or any plates/napkins laid out. The waitress was extremely rude to us and made out it was our problem and that we were a nuisance rather than realising we were paying customers as well. When she came with our pizzas she slammed them down on the table saying nothing, the last pizza followed a good 5 minutes after the others and was also slammed down. We also asked for a glass but this request was ignored.

Very disappointed and ruined what was otherwise a lovely day in Hokitika.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    75
    20
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pizza On The Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very Tasty & Satisfying Meal with Friendly Staff. Would Defiantly go back for more.
We like their thinner crust style. The Spaghetti & Meatballs is also really yummy ( I would ask for cheese on the side , maybe just me..the sauce is on the sweeter side and the cheese choice made it a bit too heavy ) Still , Delicious .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yuhummmmm...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The seafood pizza did it for us... absolutely delicious....the large pixxa was enough for 2. Totally worth the prices...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great tasty Pizza and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I shared a large pizza, which was plenty for us. The toppings were generous and delicious. I'm vegetarian so was pleased there were 2 options for me to choose from, not just the usual 1. The outdoor area where we sat was great, with a little path down to the beach.
Good service and freindly staff..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We enjoyed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice people, great location and the main thing: delicious big pizza!
We had a large Half'n'half "Aloha Amigo!" Pizza. The ingedrients were fresh and tasty, the Pizza was served in a nice way and the waitresses were friendly. We saw the sunset-sky behind some fern-trees from our table, very beautiful.
The area outside was very nice, the toilets were clean and overall it was a nice athmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Pipi Pizzas also viewed

Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 

Been to Fat Pipi Pizzas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Pipi Pizzas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.