We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New River Bluegums Bed & Breakfast Homestay

Save Saved
You added New River Bluegums Bed & Breakfast Homestay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New River Bluegums Bed & Breakfast Homestay
985 Main South Road | New River, Greymouth, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Greymouth B&B and Inns
gold coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at New River Bluegums for 2 nights on the 27th & 28th Dec 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the outside cottages, cottage #2.The B&B is full of rustic country charm and Sharon, Michael and Harry are warm and friendly hosts and go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.The cottages are clean and quiet with kitchen facilities and a private bathroom. We enjoyed exploring the property and Sharon's breakfasts are delicious.Although the property is a few klms out of time it was lovely to stay on a property and take in the scenery on the way to town . Over all we had a lovely stay thanks to our kind hosts.

Room Tip: cottage #2 is the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed the night of 11/11/12. We typically haven't stayed in many B&Bs in the past, but we will definitely do more in the future, since it's a great way to mingle with the natives. We were in the outdoor cottage. This was more like being put up in a country estate. It was incredibly quiet and rustic, but with all the modern conveniences. I only wish it wasn't cloudy that night since it would be a fine place for stargazing - no light pollution there. Our travel agent treated Greymouth as a layover spot on our way to Franz Josef. Using hindsight, there's plenty to do there and it would merit spending a couple of nights. Sharon, Michael, and Harry: we wish you only the best and I hope it showed that AM. Sorry about spilling my cereal bowl!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Sharon and Michael were born for hospitality -- they go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The outdoor cottage was very clean and spacious, and you can notice in the details that a lot of thought has gone into the guest accessories and outfitting of the cottages.

On a personal note, I lost my wallet in the Greymouth area and it was only months later that it was found underneath some furniture at New River Bluegums. Sharon went out of her way to email me and then ship it to me in Boston. It's so nice to see that kindness still exists today.

Will surely be back next time in NZ!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights with Sharon and Mike and we had the best stay of our trip.
The place is so clean and warm , the bed was very comfortable, the location is great, out of town but not too far, and the hospitality was unbeatable. Highly recommended. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed here Boxing Day 2011; It was just gorgeous- homely, relaxed and Sharon and Michael were so friendly. Their son Harry served us with fresh pineapple!
very highly recommended if you are travelling from Greymouth to Fox Glacier or Franz Josef.
Breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARLBOROUGH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at New River Blue Gums in March of this year in a cottage suite which we couldnt fault. Sharron and Michael were very welcoming and helpful with local knowledge and suggestions of places we should visit. The breakfast was delicious. This was a lovely family B and B and we would highly recommend it to our friends. We certainly hope to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in early March and were disappointed by the accomodations. We stayed in the Tui Room, which was smaller than we expected and not as clean as we would expect and there was no lock on the bedroom door. The "family room", which we had to walk thru to get to our bedroom, was cluttered with childrens toys as were the grounds outside. The pictures are not a true representation of what we received. The hosts were friendly and the breakfast just fine but we felt it was overpriced for what we received. Perhaps staying in the cottages would have been a better option.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New River Bluegums Bed & Breakfast Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New River Bluegums Bed & Breakfast Homestay

Address: 985 Main South Road | New River, Greymouth, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your New River Bluegums Bed & Breakfast Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New River Bluegums Bed & Breakfast Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.