We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont waste your time if the restaurant is busy...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paroa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Paroa Hotel to your Saves list
Paroa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Main South Road | Paroa, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Dont waste your time if the restaurant is busy...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Day of Kumara races, after working all day, turn up for a few beers and a meal and get treated like garbage. Well before the pi$$heads from the races turned up, we were automatically tarred with the same brush and only offered plastic cups, and were rudely spoken down to when we asked for a normal glass. The meal itself was average to poor (well done steak when asked for medium, and battered scallops deep fried into balls of crap, I hope these weren't fresh as thats just insulting!)

Hope the 500 people they claimed they were expecting was enough to cover their costs for their quiet days. We were planning to eat there every night, now we'll never eat there again due to how we were treated. I will also suggest to any other travellers to find another restaurant (The Recreation Hotel Restaurant we went to the next 2 nights showed how it really should be done!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paroaham, Owner at Paroa Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am disappointed with this review from Matt C as I personally dealt with this guest and was quite taken aback by his frustration over a plastic cup. Kumara Races is an annual horse racing event on the West Coast one which boasts that it attracts over 20,000 people to the course. This is held on the 2nd Saturday of January every year. This is event is one night of the year for us at Paroa Hotel and as Matt C said we were expecting over 500 people to embark on the hotel. For that reason we cannot afford to be supplying glassware to all of these people as the bar could not sustain the volume of glassware required for such an amount of people. This is done by all hotels in the area (and similar events around NZ) on this date that have large volumes of people embarking on their premises. One can only assume that when Matt C came to the bar for a drink that he had attended the races and was served into a plastic cup, when Matt C confronted us about the plastic cups it was explained to him why this was done (but we found him a glass for his drinks) however it had obviously left a sour taste in his mouth which carried on into his dinner. Matt C explained to me that he had been working at the Races for the TAB (New Zealand's Sport and Racing Gambling Agency) and had obviously been dealing with what he called "pi$$heads" all day at the races. I can totally understand that he didn't want to be tarred with the same brush after dealing with people all day, however our staff can not possibly identify on this particular date who are race goers and who aren't. I take all reviews seriously, however in this instance I believe this is a total over-reaction to an insignificant issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

People make the experience great and this is no exception Alan the manager and his team are awesome. This place is a must we really enjoyed our stay.its a little bit out of Gretmouth but don't let that deter you great kiwi hospitality thanks

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Big meals, small price and great service!

The ribs were finger-licking good and so big I did not get to try a desert.
My Grandmother had the roast which was so big she could not finish it and my Mother had the surf and turf asking for very very well done steak (which some restaurants have difficulty with) and they cooked it exactly to her specifications.

I will be going to this restaurant again when I'm back in Greymouth for Christmas :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have mixed feelings about my stay at the Paroa hotel. Firstly, the website descriptions are a little deceptive and in my personal opinion the accommodation needs some refurbishment. Whilst there was nothing I could put my finger on I got the impression the accommodation is run as more of a sideline than a primary focus. Certainly, compared to other places we stayed in on this trip the Paroa hotel didn't offer as good value for money. Breakfast was a bit disorganised but I fully appreciate that at the time we stayed the owner was going through a difficult court case involving his sons death at the Pike River mine disaster. On that note I wish Bernie every success with the court case & hope those responsible are held to account. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rusty007
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights over Queens Birthday weekend 2012. This is probably one of the first places we've stayed without me checking up the reviews on Trip Advisor. I have to say that the photos on the internet about this place was what drew us.
On arrival, I was a bit disappointed about the room being so "dated" but I guess beggars can't be choosy. I picked this place because it allowed dogs! I have to say that the only negative would be the interestingly dated decor within the room.

Aside from that, everything else was what we expected. The room was clean and spacious, warm and the bed comfortable - what more could you ask for really? The owner, his employees greeted us with a smile and at the end, I came to realise that despite the room, the people make it all worth coming here again. We ate at the restaurant for two nights in a row. We also mingled with a few locals at the pub.

There's limited cell phone reception here and this can be taken both ways. We found it a blessing not to have so many people interrupt us for our quiet weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keewatin, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

There are problems using the internet to find motel rooms and one can never really be sure what you're going to get. The comments were good for the Paroa and the location looked good (right on the Tasman Sea) but in reality the room we had was really old style and although we were comfortable enough we thought we overpaid for what we got. There was a weird smell the first night but that seemed to clear up for the second night. The sea is there but because of some flooding along the shore one has to walk a considerable distance to find access to the beach. Internet wasn't so good but then that was typical for almost every place in New Zealand. TV was OK and parking was OK.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

There is nothing particularly fancy about the Paroa Hotel but it is a great stopover when travelling down the west coast of South Island. The rooms are not luxurious but they are of a good size, are clean and are well equipped. Our room had a small deck facing towards the ocean and was a great place to enjoy a quiet beer or sundowner. Friendly staff in the adjacent bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paroa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paroa Hotel

Address: 508 Main South Road | Paroa, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paroa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Planet's New Zealand says it all: "You can't go past the Paroa Hotel/Motel for good old-fashioned West Coast hospitality". It's close to Shantytown and an unspoiled beach. Ham's Restaurant & Bar specializes in good, hearty meals, Kiwi and Pacific Rim in style. The scallops are highly recommended and the wine selection focuses on well-known NZ brands and local beers are served with pride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Paroa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paroa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.