We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts who cared.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Gables Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gables Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   84 High Street, Greymouth, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Greymouth
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hosts who cared.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We were interested to see the review of 'Gosiamelbourne' and would like to say we found Jill and Graeme could'nt have been more helpful and accomodating with our problem. Our unit was extremely clean and tidy but unfortunately due to COOKING of the previous tenant the night before the unit had a lingering odour which had come back.
The hosts gave us a much bigger unit and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay in Greymouth.
Thankyou Jill and Graeme, we had a wonderful trip, you units were extremely clean ,neat and tidy and we will certainly stay with you if we are in Greymouth again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    78
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
122
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

There are so many accomodation options to choose from in Greymouth.This was a comfortable and clean option, with friendly and helpful owner. My room had a spa bath/shower,refrigerator,microwave, basic kitchen utensils,good TV with Sky, also 15 minutes walk to town centre.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

One of the nicest motels we have stayed in for a while. The location was nothing special but handy to the aquatic centre and walking distance to restaurants. We had a one bedroom unit, kids in the bedroom and us in the double bed in the living area. Immaculately clean! Nice hot shower with ceiling heating was welcome on a chilly morning. The unit was basic but very comfy beds, nice quality linen and towels, and the home made fudge made this a very nice stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I have stayed at a number of properties in Greymouth but this is definately the best. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the hosts are very welcoming. The rooms are well appointed and are excellent for self catering. The motel is a 20 minute walk into town or a quick five minute drive if you don't won't to self-cater. The New World supermareket is very close by. I wouldn't look anywhere else.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Due to delays from our previous destination, we managed to arrive after the front desk had closed for the evening and yet the manager still came down to greet us, let us in our hotel room, and patiently answered all of our questions regarding food, internet and things to do. For that alone, they deserve a good review, but in addition, the accommodation itself was spacious and well maintained , with a great bathroom, and a real steal at the price we paid give that it was just at the end of the high season.

Definitely would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We only stayed here 1 night en route to Napier. We booked ahead and requested a quiet area. We got a studio about 4 down from the road, no noise. We used the laundry, did 2 loads and were only charged for 1. Comfy king bed, supermarket walking distance, the town was a short drive away. There is an aqua park across the road, good for littlies. Very nice bbq area. Pleasant staff. Called in at Hokitika on the way here from Franz Joseph, worth a look, there are some strange beach sculptures here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

stayed here on our journey down to fox. this was one of the best motels we stayed in during our trip through new zealand. the two bedroom apartment was spacious clean and comfortable. close to town and all amenities. the host was very welcoming and friendly

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gables Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motor Lodge

Address: 84 High Street, Greymouth, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
#2 Family Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Motor Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground-floor spacious, comfortable, well-appointed studio, 1 & 2-bedroom suites, serviced daily. 6 Studio suites (sleep 1-2), 3 x 1-bedroom suites (sleep up to 5), 3 x 2-bedroom suites (sleep up to 6). Fully equipped kitchens, microwave, fridge. Super-King/queen-size beds, electric blankets, heating, hairdryers, telephone. SKY TV 50+ digital channels, DVD players in all rooms, selection of DVD movies available at reception, spa baths (some suites). Continental breakfast, guest laundry. Cot/highchair available on request. 50M to licensed restaurant. Unlimited FREE WiFi internet. All major credit cards, EFTPOS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Gables Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Greymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.