We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olly's Restaurant

Olly's Restaurant
The Railway Hotel | 120 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 restaurants in Greymouth
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is our favourite place to dine in Greymouth. Don't be put off by having to walk through the bar to get to the restaurant, it's well worth it. My favourite is the schnitzel.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    30
    15
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A cracker of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A fussy coleague recomended this place. Her recomendation started with, "Don't be put off by the appearence, the food is great. To be fair the appearance is not that bad. You do have to go past the pokies etc, and the ambiance in the dining room is fine, just not that memorable.

However the food is fantastic. My campanion had particular dietry issues, but the menu offered him choice. He did not need to ask for special treatment. I had the best Tuna meal I had ever had. The perfectly cooked tuna was accompanied by a lovely fresh salad. There were no "but" about anything.

The meal was reasonably priced and the service was friendly and efficient. This is a great place to dine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Largest Fish and Chips Serving on Earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Were unsure what to expect walking into bar attached to the restaurant but very pleasantly surprised. Lots of choice although I decided to order my favourite, fish and chips. I will talk about the size of the serving for the rest of my life. It came with four large pieces of fish (cooked perfectly) and more chips than anyone human could eat. They weren't the best chips (I find NZ chips are all fairly generic not not that tasty) but the portion was probably cut from 18 potatoes. I ate and ate and it didn't look like I touched them. Either way it was great.
Oh and my wife ordered the schnitzel, it could have fed an army.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tuna Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Do not be put off with the entrance, this is an excellent place to dine. I had the tuna, it was fresh off the boat and cooked in rock salt and paprika, This was the best cooked and nicest tuna I have ever eaten, thank you to the chef once again.

The young waitress was very professional, friendly and passionate about what was on the menu, I highly recommend this none pretentious restaurant to anyone visiting Greymouth. Thank you Olly's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had the pleasure of eating here recently and the food was excellent, each plate at my table was delivered perfectly, great friendly service, I had the lamb rack which was perfectly seasoned and cooked, well balanced meal

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olly's Restaurant also viewed

Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 
Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 

Been to Olly's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olly's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.