We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Vibe / Fantastic Coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DP1

DP1
Mawhera Quay, Greymouth, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 24 restaurants in Greymouth
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Relaxing Vibe / Fantastic Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Awesome experience- best coffee I have had in a long time- so good I had two! The eggs bene were cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. The service was excellent- prompt and all the staff were smiling DP1 has a relaxed and funky vibe even when busy-I sat and read on one of the couches for almost an hour and didn’t feel pressured. I highly recommend this cafe.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    14
    7
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good food, forgetful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The place is cute, very funky with a nice vibe. The food was pretty good but the lady serving us forgot the toast for the bacon and eggs and forgot that the pancakes were to have no cream but with extra maple syrup. There was no apology but the toast did eventually arrive, almost cold. However, it all tasted great.
Breakfast for two was almost NZ$50 which, when you factor in drinks etc, is an average price. I think if you expect fine dining you'll be disappointed but if you like places with character and interesting people then this is the place for you.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great venue - Food very average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We heard about DP One on the tourist TV as they won an award in 2010. We decided to go there for breakfast on the 28 Dec.

The decore is very interesting and would fit well in either Aucklands Grey Lynn or Mt Manganui.

We ordered toasted sandwiches and poached eggs on toast. The service friendly and prompt. However their reputation for good food wasn't upheld for us. The toasted sandwiches average and the poached eggs were hard and on thin white toast with no garnishing and resembled something from a back country tea rooms.

DP One could be a real winner if the food didnt let down the interior and great service.

Overall, go for the atmosphere not the food.

If you found this review helpfull, please vote.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Probably the best cafe you'll find in Greymouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Greymouth isn't exactly a town known for its culinary delights. That said, DP1 was a very pleasant surprise after several days of hard cycling down the west coast. The coffee is done to the standard of a proper barista, and the food (I had the pancakes with maple syrup and bacon) is very good. From what I saw around the rest of the town, I think you'd be hard pressed to find a better place to get a coffee and have breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best little cafe in Greymouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This would have to be the best little cafe in Greymouth. Funky art deco, great food and coffee. Checkout the coffee and scone/muffin deal. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DP1 also viewed

Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 
Greymouth, West Coast Region
Greymouth, West Coast Region
 

Been to DP1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DP1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.