We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Good Value Hotel with well equipped rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ashley Hotel to your Saves list
The Ashley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Tasman Street, Greymouth 7840, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Good Value Hotel with well equipped rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed just the one night here found it really,clean tidy hotel with a nice little pool for the kids to have a dip in ( not flash but fine). Great service and lots of pillows in room. Good value in terms of bedding we got a two bedroom unit which included two Queens in one room and two singles in the other.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    36
    19
    4
See reviews for
19
55
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Good value, more than what I expect.
It's more like Motel than Hotel, has own kitchen.
Nice and helpful staff.
Clean cozy place.
Close to shop (New World, pizza and Liquor shop)
It a nice place if you need a break from Christchurch to Glacier.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshGreymouth, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thankyou for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again in the future

Yours sincerley
Melanie Hibbs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

2 Adults, 2 Nights, Great price

First Impression: Friendly Staff, Large spacious room

After reading so many average reviews we were concerned about what to expect- why? The service was great upon arrival, room was spacious, and bathroom was modern. Facilities were adequate (spa was used, pool heating was out of order), laundry was sufficient. Restaurant was nice (food a little pricy).
Hotel was 3km out of town - only real negative.

All in all we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Got our room on Wotif.com for a very busy weekend. The ashley had the advantage of being a long way from the motorcycle races, the staff were good, and the food in the restaurant was great (but expensive). The waiter in the restaurant was obsequious (my ten year old sone should not be called "Sir" by anyone!) but efficient. The room we were in felt like we were in a cave - low ceiling, dark, and very dated decor. Small, old television. Door seemed quite thin - could hear activity in the corridor quite easily.

Go for it if you can't find anywhere else, but my recommendation would be to avoid a night in Greymouth altogether. There are heaps of good places up and down the coast and it should be easy to avoid staying in this dreary town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Located on the main highway only a few minutes drive, but not really a feasible walk out of Greymouth town. The units are fairly basic but clean. The restaurant was very good, if a little overpriced. Overall the place seemed good value though, and is perhaps a better "business" hotel than a holiday one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed at the Ashley several times over the last couple of months - would totally recommend, restaurant offers top quality food and the staff are great, friendly and willing to go that extra mile. Will be recommending the Ashely to collegues - the free internet a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Dont stay in the Superior rooms upstairs. they are not value for money and the walls are thin. decor needs make over. paint cracked in places, and bathroom not as clean as i would like for $145 per night. Friends of ours had studio units and this option was far more value, and space, and nicer including kitchen. We paid far more and I was told this was because it was in the Hotel and came with a desk. but we would not have been able to invite others into our superior room as this was too cramped. Come on !!! Other hotel/motel in area far nicer, but hubby wanted to stay where his friends were. believe the bad reviews. But to be fair the food was apparently great. greymouth has far better accomodation up the road at the gables. Decor sad in places . they had horrible plug in smelly things around the hotel (far overpowering) , and despite saying we could use key to gety in at night, all doors locked from inside and had to wait for cleaner to let us in after 11pm

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Address: 74 Tasman Street, Greymouth 7840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel offers a wide range of rooms types from standard hotel/motel rooms to one & two bedroom family units. Dine in our Ala Carte Restaurant, relax with a drink in our house bar, or talk a leisurely walk along the beach which is only a 5 minute walk from our door. Our friendly staff look forward to offering you superior West Coast Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Greymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.