We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough to break up the trip.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ashley Hotel to your Saves list
The Ashley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Tasman Street, Greymouth 7840, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good enough to break up the trip.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Big enough for a 2 bedroom. Oldish kitchen, rusty fridge which did not matter as all we have is a few drinks and kid's medicine. It does have a microwave. Restaurant is expensive, so did not book it. Went into town (have to drive into town). There's a new world 2 min drive or countdown on other side of town. Needs an update. Bed sheets are clean, but bedcovers smell like they haven't been washed. Good enough for the money. Basic toiletries provided. Good price for a 2bd. Large TV with basic analogue channels.

Room Tip: Close to main road, I'm hoping the noise will die down although we are right at the back. I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. We do however carry digital and satellite channels only. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    45
    19
    6
See reviews for
24
62
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The family unit we had was really run down and the worst thing was it smelled disgusting. I think they had someone staying in the family unit long term and the bad odour stayed in the room. The moment we walked into the room, we called the receptionist whether we could change the room as the smell was unbearable, but no luck. We literally had to put a sheet of linen over the couch, as it has stains on it. Perhaps their studio rooms are in better condition, but I definitely wouldn't recommend their family units.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take cleanliness matters very seriously and sincerely apologize for the issues raised. We have since thoroughly checked all family apartments for any signs of stains or anything out of the ordinary. We also apologize for the odour while staying and understand it was previous guests style of cooking. Once again we apologize and thank you for your feedback, please feel free to contact me directly by email if there were any other issues - melanie@williamshotels.co.nz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was hilarious. When I walked up to the room, I sort of thought oh no...I thought this is a hotel. Once I stepped in however, this was a very nice and clean hotel-style interior, even better than most hotels you come across on the Road. Think of this one as if IKEA was asked to build a Motel and you come close imagining what it would look like.

But the real hammer is the restaurant.....folks this chef whips up 5 star meals. The French onion soup and the fillet were to die for. Reception was very friendly and accommodating. In short, I would definitely come back here again.

I find prices in NZ to be generally on the high side so the rates here fall into what I expected, but I wouldn't call this a high value to price spot.

If you take a stroll around the complex you come up on a cemetery with ocean (Tasman sea) view). Absolutely serene....not after dark though...;)

Room Tip: I was surprised how little noise there was even though my room was practically up against highway 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our restaurant "Jacobs Grill and Club bar". Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel was situated on the road to Greymouth but you would need a car because it was some distance to the town. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was tired looking with a sliding bathroom door which didn't fit so you could see out and see in. Happy hour was between 5 and 6.30 pm in the bar and we ate in the restaurant. We were disappointed when we got a breakdown of the restaurant bill on checkout that a chicken breast added to a side salad cost 37 dollars and the special of whitebait patties, chips and salad cost 39 dollars. We were wrong not to ask the price at the time but I do feel that the waitress could have told us the price when explaining the special. We have not paid this for lamb, beef or venison in the best restaurants in New Zealand. I was told that the requested chicken breast would be 'a bit extra' on top of the salad price (7 dollars).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your comments will go towards improving future guest experience. Prices for meals are stipulated on menus provided. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The Ashley Hotel has given me the worst stay ever. The hotel does not seemed to be very clean and staff were not helpful at all when I needed more vanity items as the ones provided were insufficient. I would definitely not recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize you found our staff helpful, whilst we have spoken to our staff we would like to investigate this further, please feel free to contact me directly by email melanie@williamshotels.co.nz .Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Ashley "Hotel" is a hotel and a motel, depending on the tariff. We stayed in room 19 (a motel room) and found the room to be clean, comfortable and wholly satisfactory. We did have concerns about security based on other reviews, but didn't have a single issue.

The staff and service were pretty cold, but I suppose for us we ignored the "Hotel" moniker and treated it like an average motel, which I suppose it is.

The location is convenient, but room 19 was on the road (and train line) so a bit noisy, and the parking situation behind the room was a little messy as everyone seemed to be parking in everyone else's spaces, as if they were missing spaces for some reason.

The furnishings were pretty out of date, but we spotted in other rooms that they had been updated somewhat so perhaps there's ongoing renovations.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that there is a hotel part and a motel part to this location. A train line runs between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for a week while working & found the staff to be friendly, helpful & accommodating, especially Chrissie at the front desk who made me feel truly welcome. The room was comfortable & clean with 2 heaters - very important in winter. The restaurant had solid & good food, reasonably priced. Overall a good choice, would stay again

Room Tip: Some rooms have full kitchen facilities, others normal hotel rooms so there are options
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your comments about our staff friendliness and we are glad to see our high standards of guest experience were of no exception to your stay. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Address: 74 Tasman Street, Greymouth 7840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel offers a wide range of rooms types from standard hotel/motel rooms to one & two bedroom family units. Dine in our Ala Carte Restaurant, relax with a drink in our house bar, or talk a leisurely walk along the beach which is only a 5 minute walk from our door. Our friendly staff look forward to offering you superior West Coast Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Greymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.