We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ashley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ashley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Tasman Street, Greymouth 7840, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Greymouth
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice enough. Basic comfortable room close to town. Bathroom was a little cold and the shower was oddly high off the ground but apart from that it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Quality Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation so we are very pleased that you agree. Thanks for staying with us.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    30
    17
    4
See reviews for
16
48
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Very good value for money - super modern hotel located close to Greymouth city centre and train station (that's if you have a car!). Don't be surprised to see a cemetery on the other side of the street either! This hotel has free wifi though and really makes u feel like you're in a modern hotel in a city. Great lobby and restaurants or a bar in the hotel. Rooms weren't bad either! Recommend if you want good value for money and if location doesn't bother you - it's close to activities on the edge of Greymouth town centre (small town!)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Miles out of town for a start - no possibility of walking, you have to drive. Then there's the rooms... Pokey and shabby, despite an apparent recent makeover. The bathroom was even worse - like some run-down hostel bathroom with hardly room to swing a cat. Very disappointing, would not stay again. Nice helpful staff though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Hotel or motel? This is definitely a motel stuck in the 1960's! After checking in we drove around Greymouth looking for something better but most accommodation seems to be oldish!

The rooms are very dated, with the headboard and couch being from this century and shower being possibly 10-years old. They have tried to make the beds look new with throws over the end however are very soft and I think a few years old.

TV's are the old square type, not a major but keep with the dated interior. I presume as a working town: mining etc, they have high blue collar and traveling sales person business which doesn't mind the older type accommodations...

Our room had a faulty heater which switched on for 5-minutes and turned off... We called reception to advise of the fault and the said they would send someone over. We waited 1-hour then went out and returned. Still the faulty heater, worked for 5-minutes and turned off, wiggling the wire got it to work again for a short while! We called reception again after sitting in the cold and getting annoyed and were told that they didn't have any replacements and that the heater would turn back on shortly... I think the girl was trying to explain it was on thermostat, no it wasn't - it was faulty.

My partner went to reception to raise the issue in person. Amy on the desk was not very helpful so we advised if the fault wasn't fixed, we'd like to check out immediately - she sent Jacob to the room, who remedied the issue with a replacement heater! Only 10-minutes earlier I was told they didn't have any spares on the phone!

Ok, so we have a new heater - great! Shortly afterwards I was outside and noticed Jacob taking another heater to the room next door and apologising for their heater problem, trying to explain the 'thermostat' excuse again, that guest didn't accept that either and they we offered a small fan heater. Thank goodness we got in first as this seems like a common occurrence!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Arriving at the Ashley was a welcome sight. The reception staff are lovely and were genuinly concerned about our trip to the Westcoast.
The room was upstairs and though it wasn't the flashest of rooms it was far far superior to the other hotel in Greymouth.
The bed was comfy.
The shower was great -high pressure.
The bathroom, minus a bath, reminded me of a portacabin toilet though - really small.
We didn't get to experience the full breakfast range as both mornings we got there, 8am and 9am, they had stopped running the hot buffet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Not a lot going for Greymouth as a town, but this hotel on the outskirts was excellent. The room was good and had everything required. The restaurant was a good find (after searching Greymouth and finding nothing) and the meal was really good. I must mention the cheeseboard for afters....6 cheeses, nuts, fruit, crackers, all for less than 16 NZD...really excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel, not a motel room, as they are somewhat of a goldfish bowl with no priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here as part of a three week tour of NZ. The package came with the hotels and itinerary chosen for us. So we saw lots of NZ hotels but can't comment on the value offered by individual sites.

Sadly the Ashley Hotel was one of the poorest hotels we encountered on our travels. It's not awful but it's not great.

It is next door to the cemetery but we had to crane our necks to see the graves: there's a railway line right at the front of the hotel but it doesn't seem to be in use.

I got the impression that some refurbishment and upgrading of facilities had taken place recently. We had a room on the second floor in the main hotel - not a motel unit. The room was a reasonable size. Unusually the bathroom was at the end of room away from the corridor against the outside wall. This restricted natural light into the main room but there was no natural light in the bathroom. The furniture seemed relatively new but it didn't match the door - and the mattress on the bed was a bit saggy, not sure that was new. But although the furniture seemed new, it didn't look as if the walls had been decorated and they certainly looked tired. The carpet was brown. There was no aircon.

Soudproofing was poor - the rain kept us awake.
The bathroom wasn't nice: some of the fitments looked new, others old. I couldn't see any markings on the taps (bath tap tops were missing) to tell me which was hot and cold. My wife refused to use the over bath shower because there was rough wood with rust markings along the top of the bath.

We didn't use the restaurant - there was nothing we fancied, it seemed a little pretentious for what we wanted to eat. But there's precious little choice in town and we ended up in Speight's Eating House by the station.

Chek in/out was quick and efficient. Receptionist was pleasant and friendly as was the maid we encountered as we were leaving.

Looking at other reviews, I can see that some peole rate the place highly. I accept it probably is good for Greymouth but that's not really a recommendation. It's not awful but, as I said, it's probably one of the worst hotels we encountered in NZ I'm afraid.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Address: 74 Tasman Street, Greymouth 7840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashley Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel offers a wide range of rooms types from standard hotel/motel rooms to one & two bedroom family units. Dine in our Ala Carte Restaurant, relax with a drink in our house bar, or talk a leisurely walk along the beach which is only a 5 minute walk from our door. Our friendly staff look forward to offering you superior West Coast Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Greymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.