We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noah's Ark Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Noah's Ark Backpackers to your Saves list
Noah's Ark Backpackers
16 Chapel St, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very accommodating. They have almost everything you would need plus more including an iron, washer/dryer, games, fishing rods, etc. The dog is also awesome and you can take her on a walk if you want. If you want to stay for free, you can help clean rooms for a few hours as well.

The beds aren't the most comfortable, but the rooms are clean so I can't complain too much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
40
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I wasn't a fan of greymouth- it was a last minute stop on the way down the west coast. However this hostel was so lovely that I'm glad I stayed there.

Hostel is a short 5 min walk to the centre, and the place itself is great- each room having a theme- I stayed in the monkey room. Mixed dorms of 8 people.

Noise Curfew of about 10:00pm and it is enforced ensuring everyone gets a good night sleep- however we were not told to vacate the common room, just keep the noise level down which was great for everyone!

Free wifi in the rooms, really great kitchen and common areas. Plenty of power plugs in the rooms which was great!

Be sure to say hey to the dog- you can even take the pooch for a walk!!

Definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice warm hostel with great views over the town. We came to see New Zealand's Gold Coast and do some adventure here and Matt organised it all for us. Ended up spending a few extra days. Rooms were a good size and kitchen was great. Our double room was great and I would recommend a stay here and in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here in May (in the cat room). Each room has a different animal theme, and we were collected from the station in the 'ark'. The room was comfortable, and there is a good sized kitchen and communal area and a nice garden. The owners and their dog are really friendly. It is not far to cafes/bars etc in greymouth, and easy to get to the station for the tranzalpine to christchurch and buses to the glaciers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good little hostel, nice location helpful staff. Great tall ceilings and nice little garden!! We took the dog out for a walk in the morning! A nice way to feel at home! Thanks for being so accomidating!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Bunks have very soft springs, mattresses. May bother some. The double was very comfortable though!

Lovely dog and matt the owner was awesome. We checked out at 10 and he let us use the kitchens and hang around waiting for the tranzalpine.

Good location and good showers and layout.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Due to heavy rain, the staff from tourist information helped us to make the call the hostel, 5 mins later the staff picked us up from the bus station, thank you for the service ! This is a unique hostel with different theme in each room, the staffs showed us some of the room and it is really lovely. we got a lovely pig room but the bedframe is not strong to support the maitress thus I don't have comfortable sleep as the maitress is sinking, owner should do something for the bed. Super lovely dog and great environment as we stuck in the rain and spend most of the time in the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Noah's Ark Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noah's Ark Backpackers

Address: 16 Chapel St, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noah’s Ark provides warm and welcoming, quality budget accommodation in a beautiful heritage building, just 100m from Greymouth town centre! We welcome you with a voucher for free internet at Check-In! 100mb high speed internet access via wireless or on our hostel PCs. You can relax in our luxurious spa pool, take a bike to explore the new coastal cycleway, or use one if the fishing rods to catch yourself dinner! All for FREE! Noah's Ark was originally a monastery, it offers now characterful spacious private and shared rooms that are warm and comfortable, with self-controlled heaters, clean linen, duvets and spare blankets. The rooms are beautifully decorated with fun animal themes - you can choose from tigers, penguins, leopards and more.There are two log fires that keep things warm and cosy on cooler days and we have a large lounge with piano, guitar, cd collection, book swap and lots of games. There is a separate TV room with a huge screen and comfy sofas and we have a collection of over 200 movies for you to choose from. End your day relaxing in our luxurious spa, or you can enjoy a barbeque and then laze in the hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Noah's Ark Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noah's Ark Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.