We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth 7801, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We staed 2 nights' at Kingsgate Greymouth in an outside unit. We found Kingsgate to be Comfortable, clean and with friendly helpful staff. We have stayed here before and would return if we are in Greymouth.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    53
    94
    59
    39
See reviews for
35
132
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Adequate hotel in a very quiet town. Avoid the expensive internet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Our room had a newly renovated bathroom, and it was really nice! However, the rest of the room was a bit dated. Also, we arrived in the dark and woke up to see that we had a great view of the river and ocean! The price seemed a bit high for the room, but ultimately it was a comfortable stay. We walked down the street to eat at a GREAT restaurant called Ali's. It was a delicious meal in a cozy atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed one night. Turned out to be in the motel part of the hotel. The staff at checkin were very friendly and helpful. Lots to see & do around Greymouth, depending on how adventurous you are. The Hotel Restaurant (Alberts) was resonably expensive, but of an extremely high standard and the staff excellent. The exterior of the Hotel had been facelifted but the room was rather tired and the toilet did not work well at all. We were on road level and the noise was incredible. We got little sleep that night. The beds and facilities were adequate. But it was a shame about the noise as we had had such a great meal & service. But if you are travelling each day you do need sleep!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

It all looks good on the website and when you pull up to reception. But then you walk into the smelly, dark and worn-out interior. The staff are great, friendly and professional but this can't cover for the worn-out dog that this hotel is.

Our so called superiour room (with rerurbished bathroom) was a worn out room with a recently decorated bathroom which still had a mouldy window frame. The balcony had a broken lock on the door which looked down on the hotel canopy filled with rubbish and cigarette ends. The light above the bed did not work. The guest info book and menu book were so old and sticky you hestiated to pick them up and wanted to wash your hands after reading them. There are many scratches, marks and dirty pataches on the walls in the room and in common spaces and hallways.

There is no easy fix for this run-down, smelly hotel. Just market it as it is, and take the international hotel chain signs off of it. Then guests could make their own decsions. I am very surprised that Millennium/Kingsgate put their name on this place. Have any of their executives ever seen it?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We had three weeks in NZ staying in six different city hotels. I had stayed here one night about two years ago and was not very pleased but all the motels in town were booked out or to expensive. This time we stayed in the higher superior room and yes, as everyone else has stated, the dank smelly carpets are in desperate need of up grading. Its a rainy damp town but no excess for poor upkeep, you'd think they would have learnt by now. Apart from that the beds were the best I've had, staff were good, bar, restaurant, location etc great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Hotel looked reasonable from the front but once past reception it looked & smelt very dated. We'd booked a 'superior' room after reading other reviews. The room was large but it was a warm night & there was no air conditioning. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Address: 32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth 7801, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the centre of Greymouth, The Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth is perfectly located for easy access to the West Coast's spectacular scenic attractions. Only 300 metres from the Tranz Alpine train station and Intercity bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greymouth Kingsgate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.