We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy hotel but rooms could do with a makeover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth 7801, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Timaru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Tidy hotel but rooms could do with a makeover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here after travelling in tranz scenic alpine train. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast included. Only one selection of egg,scrambled which were a bit firm and overcooked. Would of been nice to have a choice of eggs. No mushrooms in buffet, bacon a bit fatty. Asked if we would like coffee and was charged for it because it was made and not from machine. Should of been told beforehand. Bedroom had stains on ceiling. Pipes running along it where sprinkler system were attached. Looked a bit old and tired. Bed was far too soft and spongy. Think rooms could do with a makeover. Bathroom however looked like it had had a makeover. Clean and tidy. Good shower. Only one lift working. Not much happening in greymouth so probably wont stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    53
    94
    58
    39
See reviews for
35
131
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night and the reception area was very nice, even a restaurant in the Hotel. Did not eat there as it was a bit expensive. Very close to the Bus and train station. Room was quite nice with a balcony over looking part of the town and the Grey River. Think our toilet must have been leaking a bit also from comment from someone else, as I remember my friend wiping up some water here in our room. Only problem I had there was when I checked to see if there were any charges for an outside line. The young girl told me upon check-in that it was 30 cents, and when I checked out it had become $1.50!! I said, yesterday the young girl told me 30 cents and today you are charging me $1.50? The new girl told me she had come in from another Hotel. To me, no excuse!! Girl should have been trained properly!! This was the "only" place in all of our stays in NZ that charged a fee for an outside line. To me, it's just sheer greed and it made me mad that the charges were more than I was first told!! I doubt it would break them to do it for free and it's just another way of getting some extra money out of you. Shame on this place!!! Doubt I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Kingsgate early evening & found the hotel with ease. The Kingsgate reception staff were friendly & helpful.
Our room was located in the middle of the two storey block of units. The room was clean but very dated & had very strong smell of mould or water damage, but we couldn't not find any evidence of offending odour (yet).
TV & all room appliances work great.
The bed was comfy & slept well. It was upon showering we discovered the cause of the offending odour. Having placed my cloths on the floor ready for throwing on after my shower I discovered they had somehow gotten very wet. I thought I had been very diligent keeping the shower curtain closed, but investigated my possible shower curtain error anyway. To my relief there was no shower curtain placement issues on my part, Worse!!
I discovered my cloths (jeans, soaks, shirt, smalls & new expensive Ice Breaker jacket) had all become wet due to plumbing leaking from behind the toilet, Gross. Further investigation of the bathroom indicated this may have been going on for a while with water damaged skirting etc in bathroom & damp carpet at doors edge.
I informed morning reception on checking out, they said they would investigate & only offered us a $20 refund on room rate. It cost $16 to get jacket cleaned.
But hey I'm sure that's just an isolated incident.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Yes, it is a bit old and needs a freshen up - however, I have stayed here a couple of times. My favourite room is 1209. Its up top. And its a suite....lounge, main bedroom and an ensuite / bathroom as well as separate kitchen. Balcony over looking the town. A great view in the lounge over the Grey River and out to the bar.

Now, I shouldn't telling you this...but what a great place to stay. They probably have other suites up here like this - but honestly - I want to move in permanently! And they don't charge much - very reasonable.

I have read some of the other reviews and I feel they are a bit harsh.

The staff are friendly and efficient. Remember people - you are on the West Coast.

Room Tip: Ask for 1209 if there are just two of you...or one. You'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed overnight at this place. Rooms were small and squashy. Bathrooms haven't been cleaned. I don't think they have even opened the bathroom door for a while. They didn't even have a microwave in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

As a family that often travels NZ on a budget Kingsgate Hotels are a favourite of ours as they are usually good sized rooms, suitable for a family and very reasonably priced ...but then we made the mistake of staying at the Greymouth one.
It started off badly when the reception staff didn't even move when I approached the counter - two staff looked at me then turned their backs. One then called over her shoulder 'spell your last name'. It was off putting to say the least.
Once we got to the room I was happier, it looked bright and an effort had been made to update it. Then I noticed the cleaning standards.,,or lack of going by the rubbish under the bed, the filthy windowsills and unclean bath/shower. The shower was unusable with just a small trickle of water, the quality of sleep poor - the rooms lack any soundproofing and was woken by an alrm in another room.
The price may be good but if you can't even have a shower then there is hardly any point to staying there I would recommend giving it a miss.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This place looks and feels tired. The lounge and kitchen were large but the furniture well worn and the kitchen sink was dirty. The bathroom had been upgraded and was very good, but obviously standing out from the apartment. A large bedroom with lots of storage. The restaurant was reasonable with acceptable food and wine list. The staff were helpful. Average at best overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Address: 32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth 7801, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the centre of Greymouth, The Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth is perfectly located for easy access to the West Coast's spectacular scenic attractions. Only 300 metres from the Tranz Alpine train station and Intercity bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greymouth Kingsgate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.