We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oppressively Loud Right Next to the Highway” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aachen Place Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aachen Place Motel to your Saves list
Aachen Place Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   50 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oppressively Loud Right Next to the Highway”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

i stayed at the Aachen Place for one night in early December while traveling through the South Island. I had driven all the way from Wanaka and toured the West Coast a bit before arriving at about 8pm. i had booked ahead by looking at Google Earth and seeing tripadvisor comments.

The first thing is that the motel is right on the main highway through town. The second is that the rooms, unlike what is depicted on the property web site, were essentially glass resonators as the courtyard facing wall was made entirely of single pane glass, Combined with the overall concrete block construction it meant that every vehicle that came by shook the room, and my bones, to the core.

There were other inconveniences, such as only instant coffee (no french press plunger that was ubiquitous in other motels), but these paled in comparison to the location and construction. i had booked for two nights with the intention of checking out a bike ride in the area, but left after one night and headed to Nelson instead.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aachenplace, Owners at Aachen Place Motel, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
We do apologise that you did not enjoy your time with us - our customers are very important to us.

There is a well known saying that goes 'if you're happy tell the world, if you're not - tell us'!!

If you had come and seen us about your problems, we would have happily upgraded you to another room.

Please also note, you booked a standard studio unit. In todays world it is very much 'user pays'. If you had paid a little more, you could have stayed in an executive unit (away from the road).

Our prices reflect that fact that our motel is a little older than some of the others along 'the extremely busy road'. If you chose to stay with someone else, then you may have paid more (and possibly still ended up with a unit next to the road).

It is a well known fact that most motels are built along main roads to attract travellers. If you build a motel along a side road, then nobody sees you and your business reflects this!!

Brent and Janine Foster
Owners - Aachen Place Motels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
32
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena NI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stayed at the Aachen on a quietesh Sunday.

After a long drive from Nelson, the warm welcome was well received and our room, No 1, was found to be spotless and had all that we needed.

We didnt suffer from any road noise at all, and the owners seemed like happy folk who were always busy with their work but always available when needed.

We needed their advice on departure regarding local dentists and we were given very specific information, an address, contact number etc. etc. which helped greatly in having the problem solved within the hour....... well done Aachen and the Dental Centre!

The time spent at the Aachen was very enjoyable and relaxing. Not a lot to do in Greymouth on a wettish Sunday evening, but that is not the fault of the Aachen Motel!

If you demand more shops etc. then maybe Hokitika would be worth considering, otherwise you wont go far wrong at the Aachen Motel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Stayed here for just one night after a day trip on the trans-scenic rail from Christchurch. The owners were so friendly and helpful and happy to have a chat with us about local sight-seeing. The room was nicely decorated, exceptionally clean and had a wonderful comfortable bed. The night was very cold but the room was well heated, a case we found was not the same in some of the places we stayed. Greymouth was a fairly quiet town, but I believe it gets very busy in the summer time. We went to 'Shanty Town' which was very quaint and we had a typical devonshire tea in their beautifully decorated 'Victorian era' tea-rooms and a ride on the steam train. Just a hint-we went to the local 'The Warehouse ' and purchased a cheap thermos to carry hot water which we used to make tea or coffee when we stopped for breaks during the drive between towns. There is also a large supermarket next to 'The Warehouse' where we bought a plastic cutlery set, plates, bowls and cups to use for the 3 weeks. We purchased food at local supermarkets, usually daily, to make our own meals whenever possible. We also brought from home a small flat esky bag to carry milk [or you can buy powdered milk], our sandwiches, cakes etc. We should have brought cutlery etc from home as we seem to always purchase this stuff when we get somewhere and sometimes they are hard to find. This time we left everything at the last hotel we stayed at so hope they put it all to good use!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

The room was very clean (hospital grade), nice flat screen TV, clean and comfy bed. However the problem we had was the noise and light. The windows run the full length of the rooms and the curtains are white and not thick. The morning sun shone right in, it wasnt even the direct light so i would have hated to be on the other side of the complex. The motel is also on the main road and the traffic was very audible in the morning, trucks and what not. Perhaps some thick dark curtains would help. Otherwise a nice little place to stay and the operators were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Althought we only stayed overnight on route to Franz Josef, this hotel was excellent. The family room was huge and extremely clean. The welcoming chocolates for the kids were a bonus. The owners of the hotel could not do enough for us and were extremely helpful and friendly. If heading south on the west, I would definately recommend this to anyone. It was one of the largest hotel rooms we had on our travels and the cleanest. Great job Acchen Place Motel and thank you for making our short stay enjoyable.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and room size
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

We stayed at Aachen Place on route from Milford Sound to Dunedin. We arrived at the motel after dark and found the 2 bedroom unit as if it had never been used before. I travel a lot and for this category of motels I must say this is by far the cleanest place I have ever seen. Not one spot in the bathroom, high quality sheets on the beds and kitchen as I can only wish mine would look like every day.

The rooms are not new but as said the fact they appear spotless give the entire experience a very positive feel.

Certainly well worth the money and it comes with great tips on where to eat around Gore. The kind lady of the house suggested dinner at a local restaurant and it turned out to be one of the better culinary highlights of our trip.

  • Liked — Absolutely clean and fresh
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

We stayed at the Aachen for one night as part of our trip around the south island. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and surprisingly large for a standard motel room. We thought it represented good value for money. The motel is about a 10-15 minute walk from town, due to rain we had to get a taxi back from the city after dinner but the fare was very cheap. The only negative about the motel is that the rooms all face out to the car park and there was some noise from early departers, not such and issue for us as we were also getting up early, but if I was looking to stay longer then may have been an issue. Overall, would recommend for an overnight in Greymouth.

  • Liked — size of room, comfortable
  • Disliked — rooms by car park
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aachen Place Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aachen Place Motel

Address: 50 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aachen Place Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Aachen Place Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aachen Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aachen Place Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.