We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such nice owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aachen Place Motel

Save Saved
You added Aachen Place Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aachen Place Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   50 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Greymouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such nice owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We had not planned to stay in Greymouth, but got tired of driving. The room was very nice. The owner and her lovely tap dancing daughter were delightful. The mom made a point of showing me a photo of her paint horse. The room was clean. I heard no noise. We were able to make coffee in the AM and the, the nice red haired mom, got us to the one open restaurant.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
31
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Spouse and self stayed here 2 x nights while touring Marlborough and the West Coast. We had pre-booked at Aachen Place. We found it comfortable, clean, low cost and well managed by the operating lessee. Complaining reviewers should consider the ‘Lessee” aspect here as the buildings are owned by another as landlord.
What really grated with me was the crazed washbasin in our bathroom the like of which I have not previously seen in my travels. Drawing the operator’s attention to this I was told the replacement of the basin is a matter for the landlord who shows little interest in repairs though gladly accepts the rent.
We found the young operators very helpful and welcoming. It would be disappointing if the operator’s business were to go south because of landlord shortcomings – not to mention lack of rental income for said landlord. I have included this comment solely in the hope that the landlord gets wind of it and gives the lessees a hand-up by fixing the fixtures. Pending guests should not be deterred from staying here.
The pub two buildings away was an asset for meals including, we were told, for a cooked breakfast which Aachen does not provide, though we didn’t visit said hotel except for 2 x evening meals. Excellent food and remarkably helpful staff.

Room Tip: As all rooms comprise 3 sides of a square there probably is no choice of one room over any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just needed a place overnight after driving the Buller Gorge from Blenheim, and the Aachen Place was very sufficient. Greymouth closes its doors at 1pm on a Saturday and becomes a ghost town apart from the big supermarkets, so we basically drove down to the old jetty where the coastal steamers used to meet the trains back in the early 20th century, shopped for a few bits in the Warehouse, then had an early night. There was a fair bit of traffic - but this IS the main West Coast highway, after all, and there were a lot of tourists around still - we slept well, and felt we'd had good value for money. The manager was very pleasant and helpful in giving us information. There's a nicely planted-up seating area in the middle of the courtyard which would be very enjoyable for groups to use for meals.

Room Tip: If you're travelling in summer, ask for a room facing south across the courtyard. It's like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aachenplace, Owner at Aachen Place Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

we stayed at aachen place motel for one night. this was on our road trip and we had not planned on doing much in/around greymouth. we have been staying in affordable motels during our trip and this motel was our least favorite thus far. it is very dated and is fairly loud since it is on the main road in greymouth. wifi was an extra cost (though was fast). there is a kitchenette which was great, with a large grocery store less than one km away. i agree with previous reviewers that this motel is clean.

if you are just passing through greymouth, my retrospective recommendation would be to drive just a bit farther south and stay in hokitika, which seemed like a much nicer, fun, cozier town with a nice central area filled with bakeries and cafes.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aachenplace, Manager at Aachen Place Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. A star rating of 3.5 is a fair comment. We do not advertise ourselves as a 5 star resort and our tariff's reflect this. We do however have many extremely happy guests who comment on the cleanliness, coziness and friendly atmosphere our motel provides. Many of our guests say they would take these attributes over the latest mod-cons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The place was very clean, but that's about all I can say. The bed mattress felt 25+ years old, and the whole place looked like it'd been decorated in 1982 with no updates. The shower was made for someone under 4'9".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewZealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is the best place I have stayed in Greymouth. The rooms are older but very clean and there is plenty of room. The complimentary 2 chocolates were a nice touch. There is a separate kitchen. Very warm as well. Nice comfortable bed. We would stay again without hesitation. A 10 minute walk to town or there is a nice bar/restaurant just 100 meters or so down the road. The manager went out of his way to help us. We were staying in Greymouth for the Bike Street racing and when we got up to go to the racing it started raining West Coast style. The manager stored our bike gear and bikes at the units and gave us umbrellas. Very friendly and welcoming. More than helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you again Janine and Brent, Tanith and Tara for a wonderful welcoming stay at Aachen Place. We have been staying yearly at this motel for about the last 6 years and it is a great motel with very clean units and the Fosters are great hosts. Always very willing to help you with any questions or problems that you may have. Would recommend this motel to stay at. A home away from home. Always a pleasure to stay at and you even get a chocolate bar with the towels and facecloths.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aachen Place Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aachen Place Motel

Address: 50 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aachen Place Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aachen Place Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aachen Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aachen Place Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.