We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stone's throw to the ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachview Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachview Motel
Save
You added Beachview Motel to your Saves list
State Highway 6, Rapahoe, Greymouth, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Lewistown, Montana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Stone's throw to the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed one night during a terrible storm so we weren't able to take advantage of the large patio directly outside out glass doors facing the walkway to the beach. There was a bit of road noise but overall the stay was very quiet, since the motel is a few miles north of Greymouth. The owners were very nice and the rooms were spacious and clean.

Tom & Linda Montana, USA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy c, Owner at Beachview Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
hi thanks for the good comments pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Quiet, clean, beautiful views, short walk to the beach.

We very much enjoyed our stay here and I have to agree with another reviewer: the water pressure at this motel was MARVELOUS. Just incredible.

Well worth staying here, positioned nicely for west coast trips.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy c, Owner at Beachview Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
hi thanks for yhe good comments pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the Beachview Motel in Rapahoe, just outside Greymouth. The owner checked us in efficiently and our studio was spacious and clean. We asked the owner for suggestions for a restaurant for dinner and she suggested that we walk down to the beach and follow it to the Ferry Hotel. We did that and we walked into a cozy setting. A fireplace crackled as the locals enjoyed a beverage and we thought that it was going to be "too local". Anything but!! We were warmly welcomed by everyone and struck up conversations with locals Chris and Cliff and others. The meal was great and we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy c, Owner at Beachview Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
hi thanks for the comments pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We enjoyed this motel so much, we extended our stay. The position is excellent overlooking the beach and walking distance to the incredible Rapahoe Hotel. The room was spacious, modern, clean, very comfortable bed and with water pressure so strong that no soap was needed! The hostess was helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A great place for a base to visit west coast attractions and walks. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy c, Owner at Beachview Motel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
hi john an brenda hope your flight home was a good one
glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Tao, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My partner and I headed to the Coast for just the one night. We stumbled upon this little gem on the way to Pancack Rock just 10 minutes out of Greymouth along SH 6. We were welcomed by a very friendly manager who offered great local information. The rooms were very clean with great showers. The view was breathtaking being settled only 50 mitres from the beach. I would highly recommend this place.

We will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here after long days driving. Really clean and tidy,looked well cared for,which is why we skidded to a halt and went in. Friendly managers, clean tidy accomodation and warm! Hundred yards from the beach where we experienced the most fantastic sunset! Really comfy bed, with surprisingly little traffic noise, nothing to dislike. Would definitely go back there if we did the west coast road again .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

we found this motel while driving away from Greymouth,( because of the ridiculous prices asked for o/night stay), 10 min north of greymouth at Rapahoe. A little motel , 4 units clean ,spacious and the proprietors were very welcoming. The tariff was much more realistic.
While there is not a lot at Rapahoe it is only minutes from Greymouth and on the road to Punakiki. It was magic to listen to the sea crashing on the beach located only 50 metres away and to walk on its wild shores before breakfast next morning. Spectacularly good showers and very comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Units 3/4 are furthest away from the road and closest to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Motel

Address: State Highway 6, Rapahoe, Greymouth, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.