We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels to your Saves list
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   318 Main South Road | South Beach, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand (Formerly South Beach Motel & Motor Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Canterbury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I'm one for first impressions and what a wonderful welcome. Owner had a great sense of humour and if I was so exhausted I would have stayed and chatted for longer. I stayed in a cabin and it did smell a bit musty but then I understand the floods that happened in the area in the past and the Kingsgate is 100 times worse! Large cabin in a group of three. Another traveler had a dog and it barked quite a bit but there was I wasn't going to go to the owners at 1am to complain. Clean, tidy facilities. Road noise a little loud but you know right from the start its beside the main road. Cheap for approx $50 and I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachNZ, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi. Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service. We enjoy what we do and meeting people from all walks of life and countries.

You did have a couple of concerns and I would like to address these.

Firstly, I am sorry that you found the cabin musty. This smell was actually the brand new carpet that had been laid. This carpet had been laid about a week before your stay and we had the unit aired every day. We did have another cabin available (that had older carpet) if you had come to see us with your concerns at the time.

Secondly. We are a dog friendly motel and motor park, and everyone that brings their dog has a list of dog rules to abide by, one being considerate towards other guests. I am sure if you had gone and seen the dog owners directly they would have endeavoured to quieten their dog. I suppose if they are not aware that their dog a bother to other guests, they cannot do something about it.

We hope that if you do chose to stay here again that you come to us with any concerns at the time of you stay so we have the opportunity to sort it out immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paekakariki, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have stayed at quite a few holiday parks during my six months of traveling in New Zealand. This was definitely the best, mainly because the owners were SO friendly and accommodating. It was also nice to have a spa on site and a beach right behind the campsite. I definitely recommend this park!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachNZ, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi. Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you have the opportunity to come back some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed for one night, wished it could have be longer. The 2 bedroomed unit was large and well equipped, even with its own garden. It was spotlessly clean and the owner very helpful and friendly. The position of the motel was right by the beach - what more could you want. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for the 2 bedroomed unit with the garden and you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachNZ, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi. Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you have the opportunity to come back some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed in a tourist flat. Basic facilities, also noted the sign stating no cooking of curries or fish in room "otherwise additional fee may occur". I was rather nervous about cooking at all and made sure all windows and doors were open to allow adequate ventilation. As noted by other reviewers, we also received a room closest to the road. The hotel did not appear full at time. Made for a very noisy sleep as hotel situated on highway. It was the noisiest sleep we experienced in the whole of the South Island. This said however, the staff were friendly and approachable. Facilities were clean and adequate. Hubby enjoyed spa and they had a playground for the kids.

Room Tip: Avoid room near road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachNZ, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi. Thank you for your comments. I am happy that you found us friendly and seemingly only semi-approachable, as you did not come and pass on your concerns to us at the time of your stay.

The two tourist flats (budget units) that we have are the closest units to the road. As you mentioned we were not full at the time and if you had come and expressed your concerns with us we could have offered you a fully self-contained motel unit a bit further from the road.

As for the request that fish and curries are not cooked in the units. The request is in place as quite often the odour is still in the unit when the next guests arrive, and we feel that it is unfair to them to have to share the lingering effects of the previous guest’s dinner. We have a BBQ in a very nice BBQ area which is there for anyone that wants to cook odorous foods and also the motor park kitchen is also available to cook anything. All of the options for cooking areas are outlined in the guest compendium in all of the units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt emu
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had a tourist flat had an damp musty odor but otherwise was clean. Basic facilities good enough for an overnight stay. Our room closes to the road made it quite noisy.

Room Tip: This is right on the highway so ask for a room furtherest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachNZ, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi. Thank you for your comments.

I am sorry that you found the tourist flat a bit musty. We have investigated this, found the problem and have sorted this out. If we had known about your concerns at the time of your stay we could have offered you another unit.

The two tourist flats (budget units) that we have are the closest units to the road. The fully self-contained motel units are situated further from the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

we booked 3 rooms over 2 nights, the hosts were very nice and helpful, beach was great, motel units very clean and tidy, would very much stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBeachNZ, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi. Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you have the opportunity to come back again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

Fantastic service, great people very good value for money here. Includes free spa and has a little playground. Very close to beach, just one road separating you. Downside was we were in closest unit to road which was awful. Lots of milk tankers, boy racers and other trucks during the night. As the motel wasn't full maybe they should let that unit last? Just a suggestion. We would stay there again only if we weren't near the road.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
We are happy that you had a good stay and that you would stay again, but in a different unit.
We are sorry that you found the unit noisy and that you did not come and discuss with us your concerns. You booked a two bedroom unit, and this unit is situated on the road end of the building. All our other two bedroom units were already booked. You mentioned that we were not full, and this was correct, so if you had come to see us and we could have discussed you shifting to another unit.
Sorry that you did have the chance to help you out with your concerns when you were here.
Regards Linda and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels

Address: 318 Main South Road | South Beach, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand (Formerly South Beach Motel & Motor Park)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.