We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request rooms away from main rd” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels to your Saves list
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   318 Main South Road | South Beach, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand (Formerly South Beach Motel & Motor Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Request rooms away from main rd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

Fantastic service, great people very good value for money here. Includes free spa and has a little playground. Very close to beach, just one road separating you. Downside was we were in closest unit to road which was awful. Lots of milk tankers, boy racers and other trucks during the night. As the motel wasn't full maybe they should let that unit last? Just a suggestion. We would stay there again only if we weren't near the road.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
We are happy that you had a good stay and that you would stay again, but in a different unit.
We are sorry that you found the unit noisy and that you did not come and discuss with us your concerns. You booked a two bedroom unit, and this unit is situated on the road end of the building. All our other two bedroom units were already booked. You mentioned that we were not full, and this was correct, so if you had come to see us and we could have discussed you shifting to another unit.
Sorry that you did have the chance to help you out with your concerns when you were here.
Regards Linda and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
durham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

It is not in town of Greymouth. If you use GPS, it is belong to south beach. 2 mins walk to beach. My husband was not very happy when he knew that I booked this one. He thought that is a Motor park. The Motor park is seperated from the motel. We got the wrong entrance. When we went in our room. We were surperised how big and nice it was. It has full kitchen supply. Nice sitting room and bedroom. Very clean. The motel has a spa and nice internet room with full wall of NZ pictures. 5 mins drive to Greymouth. Great Value for our money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again some time.

Regards Linda and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Close to the beach, 5km from Greymouth center which is not crowded at all. We had a large unit, bedroom and living room separately, with full kitchen, windows a bit old. Overall a great stay. Greymouth is a good base to explore Punakaiki and Hokitika.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again some time.

Regards Linda and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had a warm welcome and greeted with a smile the unit was snug and there was beach access and free use of the spa pool the room was tidy and there was a takeaway/shop within walking distance. I would reccommend this to couples and especially families as the are not only motel units but a motor park as well and a playground for children.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your review and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again some time.

Regards Linda and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed one night. Facilities were good. Nice kitchen and eating area. Showers were clean. Friendly. Didn't use much else but I'd stay there again. I didn't hear the road, but it was winter and maybe quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your review and it was nice the hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we will see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

my partner and I stayed here in the campgrounds, in a tent.
Lida and Steve were so friendly and helped us out so much. we stayed there for a couple of weeks. the facilities were excellent and clean. the beach was only a short walk, about 2minutes.
much more affordable for those on a budget, and for what you pay you get excellent facilities and service.
loved every minute of our stay there
Kerrie-Ann and Gareth

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that we will see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed in a Tourist Flat for one night as we drove up the West Coast. On the plus side the unit was very clean and well equipped, with everything we needed. There's an absolutely beautiful beach just 2 minutes walk away and the spa pool - which was free - was really great too. However, as we had the closest unit to the road we found it very noisy, which was a shock as we hadn't experienced so much traffic anywhere else in South Island (ear plugs made it bearable)! Management clearly care about keeping the site well maintained and in the best possible condition which is good, but we were little taken aback to learn that we weren't allowed to cook fish or curry in the room (especially as we'd planned to have curry that night!). Would stay again but request to be further away from the road.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
We are pleased that you were happy with our units, facilities and spa pool.
We are sorry that you found the unit noisy. The units close to the road can sometimes be noisy as we are on the main highway, but we cannot control the traffic and the speed in which they travel past our place (should be 70 km area).
As for the request that fish and curries are not cooked in the units. The request is in place as quite often the odour is still in the unit when the next guests arrive, and we feel that it is unfair to them to have to share the lingering effects of the previous guest’s dinner. We have a BBQ in a very nice BBQ area which is there for anyone that wants to cook odorous foods and also the motor park kitchen is also available to cook anything. We have now altered our information compendium to outline all your cooking options.
We hope that we do see you again and you have a good stay.
Regards Linda and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels

Address: 318 Main South Road | South Beach, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand (Formerly South Beach Motel & Motor Park)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.