We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killer Prawn

Killer Prawn
Bank Street, Whangarei, New Zealand
(09) 430 3333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 83 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This really was one of the tastiest meals we have ever had! The flavour balance, freshness of the seafood, and the accompaniments such as their own baked bread, made this meal a fantastic experience. We also enjoyed the somewhat quirky ambience and the great friendly service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“floury prawns?? cmon you can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have to say I expected more from a place that is named after prawns than to sell frozen floury prawns.. it looked great, the scallops were excellent but the signature dish was a big let-down. I actually walked in there after reading the menu outside only to find they had not gotten around to changing it and did not have what I wanted on the new menu. The owner/manager (?) seemed to "hover" watching my every move which was sort of weird too. It looks like you guys have a great restaurant but the small details let you down this time. I will try it again next month and see if you were just having a bad day...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our first time at this restaurant and went there because of the ratings on Trip Advisor - definitely a great restaurant with food and service. The best Mexican food we have had since leaving USA been a long time waiting. Service was great as well with a nice smile even with us arriving so late for lunch on the off chance they would be serving still. We even had the Buffalo Wings to take away for dinner no problem for them to pack up. Go and try the Mexican Food well worth the 8 hour drive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cool bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Enjoyed a yummy meal in a really nice bar with good atmosphere. It was a Tuesday night but this place wasn't dead. Good background music and friendly helpful staff. Six of us had a variety of meals and everyone was more than satisfied with their selection.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Killer Wallet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The restaurant has a Lovely setting. Sadly, service has been shocking before and this last experience it was average. Food is over priced and the value of it was disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killer Prawn also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Killer Prawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killer Prawn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.