We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for breakfast!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nectar

Nectar
Bank Street, Whangarei, New Zealand
094388084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 90 Restaurants in Whangarei
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I love Nectar! I have a lot of breakfast business meetings there. the food is great, the service is friendly and efficient and the atmosphere is quiet enough to have meetings.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thaïlande
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Organic only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Brought there by friends , I had so far the best breakfast I never had in Whangarei. Using only organic product , egg Benedict with salmon is a delight , the smoothie for health a must to try and the kindness of the staff is great. I so liked it that I had been there 3 times in 6 days .... and will go again for sure on my next trip to NZ , well done guys and continue in this direction.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Whilst heaving due to the fact that most other cafés are closed for the holidays, the server was up front about the wait... but pleased to say it was worth it. Fab corn fritters with fresh interesting side salad. Excellent mochas to accompany. Would come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I came here with a group of friends for lunch and we booked at a time to suit the restaurant. We waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken and were told then it was a 20 min. wait for them to be served, however that wait turned out to be further 45 minutes. No apology or excuse was given. I also requested coffee to be brought with the meal, but this didn't arrive, and again no apology.
Service needs to be smarter, especially at lunchtime. We won't be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe.... Deserves the rave reviews!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We went here because they Lonely Planet told us to and we weren't disappointed. I had a large bowl of fruit salad. Although a simple dish which anyone can do at home it was beautifully prepared. All fresh fruit, a nice diverse range and finished off with passion fruit nectar I think... Yum. My other half had the chicken curry from the cabinet and said it was very nice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nectar also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Nectar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nectar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.