We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nectar

Nectar
Bank Street, Whangarei, New Zealand
094388084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 83 Restaurants in Whangarei
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

While the service was great, we had to wait quite a while for our meals to arrive - 45min wait for burnt corn fritters and a raw vege salad! Hard to explain why we were still there to a 20 month old toddler who had eaten and was ready to get going. Nectar really needs to pick up their game. Until then, I won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Award-winning cafe in Whangarei”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast, on our way home from the Far North. Nectar offered a pleasant setting and an interesting menu, featuring organic and free-range ingredients, with options for those who are gluten-free or vegan. The waitress was friendly and attentive. Our breakfasts (as pictured) were tasty and generous - the kransky sausage and bacon were particularly delicious. We'd been away from espresso coffee for a few days (yes, it is possible in NZ!) and so we were looking forward to our coffees. Unfortunately we found our lattes served in quite large, tall glasses, tasted a bit too milky/weak. The cafe menu did note double shots were standard - we weren't given a choice of blends, but perhaps got their more mellow option.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bxl
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Bravo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

For this most pleasant dining experience.
Once again NZlanders show us how easy it is to put together a most toothsome meal based on the quality and freshness of the ingredients and little inspiration and originality. These are the type of places, just great to stop for lunch or a late breakfast or just because all they serve appears
to be so yummy. Wish we had something similar over here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“All-round awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am up in Whangarei for work every six weeks and I visit Nectar cafe for both my own meals and for catering. I cannot fault them - the food and service are consistently excellent. The menu has great variety, portion sizes spot on, and the coffee is fab. Wi-Fi is also available. My only wish was that they were open for dinner, too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A most 'excellent' experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Was in Whangarei today and popped into the nearest eatery to our meeting and couldn't have made a better choice.
The service was friendly, prompt and welcoming; the french gentleman host was simply refined. The food was lovely and priced well, enjoyed a relaxing lunch break with a fantastic view over the city and out towards the bay.
Certainly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nectar also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Nectar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nectar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.