We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific "Tonic"..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tonic Restaurant

Tonic Restaurant
239 Kamo Rd, Whangarei, New Zealand
(09) 437 5558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 83 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific "Tonic"..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a lovely little restaurant !Sunday night set menu was fantastic .From my booking via email to the moment we left the experience was equal to none .the staff were terrific, the food was top notch! Beautifully presented,and delicious.Easily on a par with restaurants in Auckland and Sydney.This little gem is a "must" experience if you live or are visiting Whangarei .I was visiting from Sydney and I went with a friend and we both just loved our evening at "Tonic" restaurant .
So very glad we went there

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    17
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Service was excellent, tried the NZ Lamb and Wine which was superb. We were in NZ for four weeks and this was one of the best meals we had.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great food friendly staff dont rush you out the door so they can fit someone else in no time limit.
Pays to book

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal with a group.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a lovely meal with a fairly large group. Everyone was suitably impressed with their meals. Sarah looked after us well and entered into the humor going around. Don't be put off by the surrounding shops in Kamo. You won't be disappointed with Tonic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fine Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I bought a GrabOne deal for dinner as we have never been there but have heard loads about it & thought it was time we try closer to home, although meals are not large they are very tasty, with great service, would call this fine dining. although place wasn't crowded I have gone past & looked in & have thought it looked a little too crowded especially on weekends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonic Restaurant also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Tonic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonic Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.