We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tonic Restaurant

Tonic Restaurant
239 Kamo Rd, Whangarei, New Zealand
(09) 437 5558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 79 restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have eaten here a few times over the years and always find the service and food to excellent - highly recomend Tonic

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    45
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warkworth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We bought a grabOne deal for dinner main at this small restaurant just outside the city . So glad that we did as the location was such that we wouldn't have passed by in travelling to our holiday home..
The service was first class. The wine was served at the perfect temperature by an experienced young lady. We both had steak that melted in the mouth. Deserts just delectable. Choice of all courses had something to please everyone. Pity they didn't have soy milk for coffee but then,not all restaurants do.
The atmosphere here is happy and vibrant, being almost full on a Thursday, which speaks for itself. Liked being able to see through to the kitchen watching the chef at work. We look forward to going again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best place in town!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Have eaten at a number of restaurants around Whangarei as I travel there for business and tonic is definately the best!!! Food is amazing!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a good meal here, the staff were lovely and food was great, would go back again, remember to book as they tend to get full on the weekends

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I have been many times and I'm never disappointed. Fabulous food and great service. The staff are well presented and well trained. They also have a great sections of wines.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonic Restaurant also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Tonic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonic Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.