We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiraz Indian Restaurant

Shiraz Indian Restaurant
58 Walton St | Central, Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
+64 9-438 3112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 83 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Shiraz Indian Restaurant was the first truly successful Indian restaurant established in Whangarei and Dargaville. We have pleasure in bringing you the finest ethnic cuisine which evokes nostalgia of a glorious bygone era!5 Reasons why you’ll have a great time at Shiraz Whangarei:1. You’ll have delicious freshly prepared chicken, lamb, beef, seafood and vegetarian dishes.2. Your meal is prepared with the finest fresh locally sourced vegetables and dairy products.3. Awarded A+ Merit food licence for food safety, cleanliness & training programmes.4. Have a family friendly restaurant and children’s menu.5. Guaranteed you’ll leave satisfied… simple.
Auckland
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“good indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a very nice Indian meal and good service- The garlic Naan was good as was the Chicken Masala - it was quite busy for Easter weekend so we were thankful they were open at 8pm

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun City, Arizona
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent and wide variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We followed our motel owner's recommendation. We were able to park within 100 meters and the menu was extensive. We are familiar with Indian food and have Indian spice in our home but were unfamiliar with all the varieties on the menu. Our waiter explained and ww selected varieites of prawns and lamb with spice combinations new to us.
Everything was excellent and we really enjoyed the evening.
The decor is "tired" but the food and service were so fine we hardly noticed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The food is very good and a good selection is available & draught Kingfisher beer available too at the Whangarei branch of this group. Service is a little sketchy though, understaffing seems to be the problem and possibly trying to stay open too many hours, gives the impression of one of those 24 hour joints that always looks as if it needs a clean.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutukaka Coast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Used to be our favourite Indian Restaurant in Whangarei”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I can't count the number of times we've eaten at Shiraz with my wife or with a large family group. The food and service have always been first rate. But when they had to move to make way for the city to demolish their block of buildings and replace it with a carpark they moved to a new location. Unfortunately, parking near their new place is difficult and we'd have to cross a busy street to get to them. So we haven't been back since they moved. However, I understand from friends and family that their food and service is still worth the effort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous FOOD and Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We’ve been dining here for over 2yrs and keep coming back. It’s our ‘go to place’ for wholesome tasty food and great service. Their hospitality and generosity surpass expectations. Fab food, fresh organic ingredients sourced locally as much as possible and talented staff keep us coming ‘home’.
Its a large restaurant looking towards the peaceful Western Hills of Whangarei, with lots of activity in the streets nearby. Bright and friendly its a great spot for an inner city eatery. We have dined with friends and family here often and never hesitate to recommend it to guests.
They also have takeaways and delivery service to all local motels.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiraz Indian Restaurant also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Shiraz Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiraz Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.