We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a Miss” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mondo's - CLOSED

Mondo's
14 Quayside, Whangarei, New Zealand
(09) 430 0467
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Give it a Miss”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

For my table of four the food was inedible. Microwaved cheese melt. Tasteless leek and potato soup and blackened mushrooms cooked in what tasted like carnation milk. If a restaurant serves such awful food then it doesn't matter about the other elements.

No refund offered nor given despite full plates of food and it having been brought to their attention. This place gives NZ a bad name.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    4
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have to admit, all the negative reviews are very puzzling to me. My husband and I have been to Whangarei several times and make it a point to enjoy brekkie at Mondo's every time we are there. The food is delicious and creative, and it's obvious the menu is thoughtfully put together. The eggs benedict are the best I've had in any country, much less in New Zealand. The staff are always courteous and do a great job of getting food out quickly and tables cleared promptly. We are loyal patrons and look forward to our next visits! Keep up the great job and the fantastic food!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently made a stop at Mondos over the long weekend, and what an oasis. The food was fantastic, the classics and other dishes with an endearing twist, and the service was just great. The staff and management were extremely busy and yet professional, efficient and still with a welcoming warmth. The setting at the Town Basin is quite special.

This place rivals many a cafe in Auckland and was just what we needed. I would HIGHLY recommend it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had lunch on Saturday, beautiful meal, great service. We go regularly and have never experienced any of the bad comments on here. Would recommend, awesome location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch on the quay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sad thing is we went back, after discussing with the staff about the lack of food quality and presentation. My meal was over cooked and my wife's under cooked. We are in the hospitality business in the Bay Of Islands, and often have recommended to our guests to stop into the town basin for a meal. The game has to be lifted guys. Service was there if you waved your hands about, but the meals were disappointing. No flair what so ever in the 'cabinet' meal choice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondo's also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.