We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Pumpkin Soup” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mondo's - CLOSED

Mondo's
14 Quayside, Whangarei, New Zealand
(09) 430 0467
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Pumpkin Soup”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Got served an uneatable pumpkin soup, which was possibly watered down, with a slice of toasted crust "ciabata" and thick slices of ham in the middle of the soup. Made ham sandwich out of the crust and ham to surfice hunger.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    4
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gluten Free? Soooo Disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I was really happy to see Mondos provided gluten free options! As a coeliac it is really important to me to see places offering GF as it gives me the opportunity to dine out with friends and be able to eat too. My experience today makes me annoyed that I also recently purchased a voucher to go there as quite frankly... I would never return! I made it very clear to the person who took my order that I required GF and that I had coeliacs and so was very sensitive to gluten. It became obvious that they don't seem to have much understanding at all of GF and what it entails - their service was hugely disappointing also with a friend requesting some water and being told by the waitress she would bring it back but never returning. When trying to speak to the manager about the above my concerns regarding his knowledge of GF (even though he stated his daughter has coeliacs!) and therefore the ability of this restaurant to provide GF meals deminished pretty quickly. Also he was nothing but rude in the manner in which he spoke to my friends and I...no apology for the poor food or poor service... I guess it didn't matter to him much given our money was already in his pocket! We left immediately and went next door to Mokaba - much better food and service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not brilliant which is a pity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Started good smiley service but food was such a let down burnt panini followed by non descript apple slice, big let down, will try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“big feed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

had the luck to score $19 grabone voucher
the mondo breakfast was very good value for money
large plate filled with creamed mushroom bacon tomato potato cake 3 eggs poached just as i asked for with toast best valued breakfast in whangarei
plenty of staff so no waiting
coffee was great as well

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst breakfast ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This was the worst breakfast I've ever had. I ordered the eggs benedict on toasted ciabatta bread, and was served undercooked eggs (whites were still clear) on untoasted, cheese buns from Pack'n'save with too much margarine on. The coffee was cold, and not well made. Service was terrible, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondo's also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.