We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Degustation menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of a Deco

a Deco
70 Kamo Rd, Whangarei, New Zealand
(09) 459 4957
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 83 Restaurants in Whangarei
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ruakaka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Degustation menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have been to A'Deco several times and never been disappointed. It is so right for a special occasion. Alas we live slightly out of town so it requires special transport arrangements if we are to enjoy the wine that goes with each course of the Degustaion menu. Fantastic food and great service always

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Nice and special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Whangarei. It is more of a formal dining restaurant. The food is always great and nicely presented, the service is impeccable and every time we dine there we always feel good about our dining experience. Top marks a Deco......

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Whangarei's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

With out a doubt a Deco is Whangarei's finest restaurant. Best food, best presentation, best staff.
Occasion dining.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience turned bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I feel I must tell everyone about my experience tonight.
This is our last night in NZ for my wife and myself on our annual visit, we were dining with two NZ friends at A Deco.
The evening was going very well, the food was very good the service was excellent and lots of laughter, although we were being scrutinised the whole evening by the chef and is staff through some round windows looking out of the kitchen.
Although this was a little annoying the service more than made up for it, until the sweet coarse was being served, I noticed that there were four people watching the young waiter serve the sweet myself and another member of the party were havering a sweet that required chocolate sauce to be poured on to it, my wife was having ice cream, she asked if she could have some chocolate sauce on it from the jug , the waiter was duly obliging with this request, only to be stopped by much finger wagging from the older female looking on from the window. I thought this was despicable behaviour intervening into a customers request.
I did not eat my sweet in protest to her despicable behaviour?
She turned the whole evening into a disappointing affair.
But I must say the service and food up to this point was excellent.
Marcus

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Food we had in NZ but at a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

As we were staying up the road from the restaurant we decided to try have dinner here and they obligingly fitted us in. We had salmon four ways, snapper, lamb and a wonderful lemon dessert which was a tasting experience like no other. On reflection we should have had their 95 dollar five course tasting menu which is good value as our dinner was almost the same price and the most expensive one we had in two weeks in NZ, so recommend that to prospective dinners. The waiter and waitress were lovely and it was an elegant dining experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a Deco also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to a Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage a Deco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.