We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A'Deco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of a Deco

a Deco
70 Kamo Rd, Whangarei, New Zealand
(09) 459 4957
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 90 Restaurants in Whangarei
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A'Deco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

A pampered dine and wine. Loved the experience where they treat you as you should be treated while dining out. A lovely dinner...beautiful food.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice food in a nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Came here on a Saturday night. It was quite busy and things did not get off to a great start with the waitress sitting us down, then promptly forgetting to get us any menus or drinks. After 5-10 mins we had to ask for some menus as we were getting quite hungry by then! Things did improve and we were overall quite happy with the food and the other waitress who eventually took over was very friendly and helpful. I had the cold leek and potato soup followed by the panfried hapuka. Both were nicely flavored and cooked. The food was not outstanding by any means, but it was fine and the atmosphere was nice. I thought the food was a bit overpriced for the quality but the portions were reasonable. The dargsville kumaras that we ordered as a side were divine. Would consider coming again if we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Brenton Low continues to serve outstanding regional dishes. Well done

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Yes, it lived up to it's reputation. Top food, service and wine. A must if you are in the area. Well done!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“This restaurant is worth at least one Michelin star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Staying at a B&B in Whangarei for two nights we asked the owners for advice on the choice of a (good) restaurant.
They didn't hesitate and recommended "a Deco".
We are Europeans and very fond of refined cuisine. We often have meals at restaurants starred by the Michelin Guide.
a Deco deserves at least one of those stars.
Ingredients used by the Chef are high quality. His preparations are creative and very subtle.
The presentation on the plates is also very refined.
The choice of wines is very broad, including some fine French wines (we chose NZ wines of course).
Service is friendly and efficient.
Highly recommended table !!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a Deco also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to a Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage a Deco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.