We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheviot Park Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cheviot Park Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Corner SH 1,Western Hills Dr. & Cheviot St., Whangarei 0110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Cheviot is a clean and comfortable place to spend a night. Our room was very clean and nicely appointed. The Mangers were helpful and pleasant. We recommend it.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
19
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We arrived late in the evening after driving around aimlessly trying to find a motel. Reception was supposed to close at 8.30pm but our car headlights were seen when we pulled in around 9.30pm and a lovely lady came to the desk and helped us out.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit which had a queen and a single bed bed, ideal for us as we were literally only sleeping there for two nights whilst visiting family with our young child. Lots of extras were provided including decent plunger coffee. The bathroom and toilet are dated but were spotlessly clean. There is traffic noise early in the morning from trucks, but coming from the earthquake stricken city of Christchurch the rumbles were no different than the noise of an aftershock lol.

We were impressed with how clean the unit was. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

walking distance from shops, CBD and public hospital. Very helpful staff that go the extra mile. spacious room and fully equipped kitchen incl. oven. Off street parking. Real value for money

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Central for everything we needed, People always make the stay more memorable, and cheviot park staff were wonderful . We will stay here on our next trip in November.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Cheviot Park Motor Lodge at short notice. The hosts were welcoming and helpful. We requested a quiet studio which was supplied and we felt under no pressure to check out "on time" in the morning. The unit itself was clean and roomy and all that we needed to make breakfast was there. We would (in fact have subsequently) recommend to friends to stay at the motel.

Room Tip: Request a quiet studio/room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Cushions, paintings and lovely china made our one night stay at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge very comfortable indeed. What a lovely room, nice and clean even decent soap and shampoo. We live in Kaitaia and Cheviot is now our home away from home. Thanks for the lovely time Loes and Gary Bodle our hosts, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to stay again when we need a good nights rest in Whangarei.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We booked on the day through the Whangarei information site. We asked for somewhere quiet but the first five places they tried were full so we ended up at the Cheviot Park.

The rooms (we had two), are well designed but very worn and dated. The kitchens and bathrooms were scrupulously clean but looking very tired. Old carpets and vinyl flooring.
However the new white bedlinen helps and the beds were comfortable.

The big problem for us was the traffic noise. I am not particularly sensitive to noise but this was truly horrendous. The motel is situated metres from a dual carriageway which is the main route through Whangarei. It is at a lower level than the road and in the curve of a bend at a traffic light. This means that all night passing trucks rattle the room, stop at the lights, idle and then set off again only a few metres away. It is impossible to keep the window open and closing it is still REALLY noisy. I slept badly and both of my kids were woken and came through to ask what the noise was.

I gather from the guest feedback form that new owners have recently taken over and are planning some improvements. They are certainly very pleasant hosts. Unfortunately unless they plan to soundproof and double glaze all the units on the roadside I can't see how they can resolve this.

If noise is not an issue, then it is a well run and friendly motel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheviot Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheviot Park Motor Lodge

Address: Corner SH 1,Western Hills Dr. & Cheviot St., Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheviot Park Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay in Whangarei, Cheviot Park Motor Lodge and Conference Centre is situated in Whangarei, just 2 hour's drive from Auckland and less than 1 hour from the Bay of Islands. It is conveniently located on State Highway 1, only 1km from Whangarei city centre, 650m from Whangarei Hospital and close to most sporting venues. All accommodation is on the ground floor with free secure parking outside the units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Cheviot Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.