We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked it on a whim and it was excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Settlers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Settlers Hotel to your Saves list
Discovery Settlers Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   61 - 69 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Booked it on a whim and it was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

On a road trip, whilst holidaying in NZ, taking each day as it comes, we somehow ended up in Whangarei with no accommodation... so finally we managed to book ourselves a room,using our extremely slow internet connection on my phone, to find some where to rest our weary bones... last minute in Whangarei.
Thankfully price was reasonable, the place super clean and well kind of nice too. Voila, we hit gold. Discovery Settlers Hotel.
We got a reasonable price last minute booking on a Sunday evening, the staff were really friendly and even upgraded us! Awesome.
Clean, comfy, big TV, veranda off the bedroom, view of the river, big king size bed, no bath but a lovely hot shower... the next day we had a yummy breakfast at the restaurant, it wasn't included but we didn't mind.
Since we slept in we were late checking out but again the staff we so kind, didn't charge us extra and even gave us a newspaper.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    50
    15
    14
    5
See reviews for
27
49
3
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had our wedding here last night and it was amazing, couldn't of been any better. We had to have our ceremony there because of the cyclone but Rick was so amazing and made everything a breeze. The staff were kind and helpful. The food was delicious. Overall this is a wonderful place with nice caring people, and I would encourage people to have there wedding here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The place has a great initial feeling. A nice stroll to town. The room was clean, tiny, with no view. No floor space for a yoga mat. Had to fill the jug from the bathroom sink which was nearly impossible. The Wifi was terrible as the phone service. My neighbour and myself both had to sit outside on our balcony to make our phone calls, not very private. Sleep was average and was awoken very early by walking and banging up the front porch. Breakfast was the highlight if the stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful even when I had to come back and grab stuff I had left in the fridge. I'm sure the rooms in the front building are much better.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Have stayed here a few times over the last year, and the restaurant and bar have changed over this time. On my recent stay the only dinner option was a smorgasbord which was pretty average. Breakfast was better, with the usual buffet type selection. The rooms are very comfortable, and look like they have been recently renovated. The bathroom is fairly compact with no place for toiletries. The WIFI available has improved over the last 6 months. We continue to return to this Hotel because it is better than some of the other options we have stayed at in Whangarei.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very comfortable stay at this Hotel. Room was clean with nice bright outlook. Garden bar was a pleasant place to spend an hour or so. Staff were helpful and friendly. Central location and close to main centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The staff of the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. They upgraded our room to a king size bed since they didn't have a twin bed room that I had requested. Rick gave us plenty of suggestions on places to eat and things to do while in the area. The room had a lot of character and looked as though it had been recently renovated. but this doesn't help keep out any of the noise from the rooms next door or noise from the parking area. The bathroom, although small and had no place for toiletries, had a wonderful shower with plenty of water pressure. The package I purchased included breakfast, which was a average breakfast buffet, nothing fancy. Would recommend this hotel if staying in Whangarei.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

To give the positives first, the staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was bland but comfortably furnished and everything was spotlessly clean. Bathroom was tiny with no room for toiletries except the floor, but fittings appeared new and reasonable quality. The aircon was functional, but too noisy for nighttime use.
There were quite a few negatives, though. No selection of teas - just English breakfast. Helpful minibar menu, but no minibar! Food menu looked inviting. I am not usually a breakfast person, but was tempted by the vege option, which included avocado, but got there and found that none of those options were actually available. Same in the evening. Went for a walk and arrived back looking forward to a light meal of potato with grilled cheese and sour cream. Got to restaurant to find again that none of the menu options were available. Only option was a full buffet meal at $36. If I'd known that I would have had a snack meal in town, but couldn't be bothered going out again, so did without.
Overall a very disappointing stay, mainly due to poor communication. Definitely wouldn't recommend., which is a shame because it certainly has potential and I did appreciate the friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay, ask for room which has a window which can be opened and closed and, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Settlers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Settlers Hotel

Address: 61 - 69 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Settlers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Settlers Hotel, Perfectly positioned Colonial style Hotel with its in-house award winning Restaurant and Bar, nestled in Beautiful park like surrounds,a short stroll from the hotel will lead you along the riverside, down to the Town Basin; where the Whangarei marina bursts with international flavour. An assortment of colourful shops, and galleries can be found in this area. A short drive away lie the Whangarei Falls, a breathtaking waterfall and bushwalk in a beautiful native bush setting. Another 20 minutes on you will find yourself in the world-famous Tutukaka Harbour, gateway to the Poor Knights Islands. These Islands offer the most spectacular diving and snorkeling in New Zealand; with stunning underwater topography and a cornucopia colourful life. Dozens of white sand beaches, romantic paradise, or fun family getaway. These are just a few attractions Whangarei has to offer whether it's business, pleasure, domestic or international. Discovery Settlers is the place to stay in Whangarei. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Discovery Settlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Settlers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.