We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lupton Lodge to your Saves list
Lupton Lodge
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Uk
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lupton Lodge describes itself as "a stunning historic villa providing luxurious boutique Whangarei accommodation" - well it is and it does. The rooms are large, airy and well furnished - we were given the Red Room which I think is the biggest. There is a large well equipped guest lounge and a pool. The Lodge is a few miles out of Whangarei which isn't a problem since you will almost certainly have a car, but you might like to consider taking the option of the evening meal which is available. We did and were very glad to have done so. There was agood choice, the food was well prepared and presented, and the overall quality was as good as any you'd expect from a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to post your great review - it is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    23
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
106
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent two nights at Lupton following a busy weekend in the Bay of Islands.
It was everything we asked for, very well presented and laid out, clean and very comfortable. The decor was lovely, and the room we stayed in (The Red Room) was furnished to a high standard.
The owner Andy was a fountain of local knowledge, and made us feel most welcome.
His food was also superb.
The location was halfway between Whangarei and Tutukaka, which made for easy access of all the beaches along the coast without being tied to one.
We spent one night eating Andy's great food and sharing a bottle of wine whilst playing pool in the separate library/pool room, a perfect way to relax.
Despite the lack of sunshine on the first day, we ventured into the outdoor pool, which was tidy and very refreshing!
Although we did not have time to venture around the grounds, the lodge was in a wonderful setting with orchards and paddocks all part of the experience.
In summary we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in the Tutukaka area,
Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to post your great review - it is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Russell. Karen and Andy run an exceptional B & B. Karen welcomed us warmly and took the time to show us around the house. We had booked the Red Room and it was by far the largest room we have had in a B & B. The room had a separate room as a sitting room which also had a fridge. Through the sitting room was a spacious and well stocked bathroom. Andy made a very good and wholesome breakfast. The grounds of the B&B have many fruit trees and a friendly bull! The location of Lupton Lodge is very good just a few kilometres from Whangarei and a 15 minute drive to the Tutukaka Coast. Lovely home, lovely hosts, lovely area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely review, it is very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lovely 2 nights at Lupton Lodge. We ate at the Lodge on Friday night and the food was exceptional and very tasty. Our hosts, Andy and Karen, were lovely and very helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious too. We loved the old villa style which was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. If you want a special weekend away, Lupton Lodge would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: Loved the Red Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely review and glad that you had a great time for your 40th weekend !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centre france
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Before we had even arrived Andy was a mine of information about what to do on our drive up from Auckland to Lupton Lodge. any communication was answered quickly and helpfully. On arriving we had a warm welcome and were shown to our room in this delightfully restored period home. Loved the little touches such as the home made fudge by the bed and the fresh milk in the fridge. a few minutes later we were settled down on the balcony with a chilled glass of white. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom roomy. Breakfast in the morning was fruit kebabs, poached egg, bacon and spinach on a muffin and of course toast and coffee. We stayed two nights and could easily have stayed longer. Andy is happy to chat and point you in the right direction but is also just as happy to leave you to it if that's what you prefer. The evening meal was good too - we had fish ( but I can't spell it!) which was served with vegetables and kamura mash, followed by creme brûlée. I would certainly recommend this as the place to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thankyou so much for your review and hope you enjoyed the rest of your brief time in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were so pleased to receive a 'suggestion' by friends of the owners to consider LUPTON LODGE as an over night stay while en-route on business.
Welcoming hosts, lovely room and plenty of on site facilities we really did not have time to appreciate fully.
Great off road parking and plenty of turning space.

A beautiful character home renovated and restored with a few creature comforts!

Fabulous breakfast prepared by Andy - who is a fountain of local information.
Next time we will book in for one of their evening meals.

Only 3 rooms, so plan to book - we were lucky to strike a night with a spare room.

Room Tip: We had a room with separate ensuite and private lounge, but they also have another room with a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thankyou very much for your review and hope that everything is going well for you with your business - hope to see you again next time you are down this way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I only stayed for one night on my way from Rotorua to Paihia but had a very enjoyable experience. The Lupton Lodge was everything that I expected from a bed and breakfast and I was not disappointed. Comfortable bed, great breakfast and helpful advice.

My only regret is that I only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thankyou for your great review and hope you enjoyed the rest of your NZ trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning boutique accommodation redesigned for privacy and relaxation. Nestled in dry-stone walled gardens with pool and free wireless internet. Guest lounge with snooker table, library, PC, DVD collection. Gourmet breakfast is included and a restaurant-style dinner menu is available. Our rooms are situated in a historic Category II listed villa and an adjacent converted 2-storey barn. In keeping with a boutique hotel, both dwellings are exclusively for guest accommodation. Each superior ensuite room has contemporary uncomplicated decor, cotton linen, bathrobes, DVD, air-con, ipod dock and 32" flat screen TV. 10 Mins from Whangarei city and spectacular Tutukaka Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupton Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.