We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lupton Lodge to your Saves list
Lupton Lodge
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed one night only ..was met by Andy and shown around.. The Lodge is out of this world...peaceful surroundings..rural outlook.We stayed in the Red Room ..the furnishings are of the highest standard.There is plenty to do at the lodge ...swimming pool lounge with pool table...great library of DVDS...CDS...and Books ...to take to your room ..The dinner which was preordered was of the highest class...the breakfast in the morning was great.Andy made you feel at home ..he was there to help if required but left you alone ..if you know what I mean really great host.The food was of the highest standard and we would recommend this place to anyone and would stay again if we are travelling in the Whangarei area

Room Tip: We stayed in the red Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hi Ray
Thankyou very much for your review and so glad you enjoyed everything so much. Hope you had a good and safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
101
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portrush, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

each day there were homemade traybakes left in your room. beds really comfy. lots of space in the bed rooms. pool area outside and wifi area ideal. Tutukaka and Ngunguru near by, by car restaurants here to eat - salt air cafe (fresh fish cooked here). Tranquil location. The hosts could not do enough for you. beautiful filling breakfasts and evening meals on request. great value for money and a relaxing place to stay. some rooms do not have en suit - use a shared bathroom down the hall way. exceptional place to stay - would definitely have no hesitation to recommend for others

Room Tip: all rooms beautiful. one with en suit should be requested saves a trip down the hall for a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Hi,
Thankyou for your great review, it is really appreciated.
Since the date of your stay, our property has undergone quite significant improvements and renovations, and one of the major upgrades is that all of our rooms now have ensuite bathrooms.

Best Regards
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Enjoyed every minute we spent at Lupton Lodge, Andy's hospitality was beyond excellent. The lodge is in great proximity to Poor Knights Island which was fantastic for scuba diving. The property is manicured well in a country type setting, complete with animals grazing on site. In addition to Andy being a phenomenal cook, his assistance with our itinerary made the trip a memorable one. We highly recommend staying here and absolutely plan on visiting again in the near future. We spent two nights at the lodge in October 2008.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed there twice (one in the red room and once in the blue room) and both times were exceptional. Service is excellent and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. Definitely recommend this lodge

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Lupton Lodge was a FANTASTIC place to stay on our one month honeymoon/exploration of New Zealand in December. We stayed there for only one night (I REALLY wish we had made the time to stay for longer), but it was HIGHLY memorable. We arrived there after 2 days of diving, and Andy was a FANTASTIC host. I recommend having dinner there, as he is an amazing cook. And the room we stayed in was gorgeous - luxurious, full of character, and possibly the most comfortable bed we slept on all month. Breakfast was fantastic as well - really delicious. My husband and I were both REALLY happy with the place, the hosts, the food, the room, it was all just lovely. Wish we had stayed longer . . .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The host was very helpful. The place was more beautiful than the pictures we saw online would lead you to believe. Very high ceilings, beautiful wood floors, lovely furnishings. Really nice place. We had a flat tire on a national holiday and our host Andy went above and beyond by getting someone at the car rental place to come in and give us a new vehicle even though they were closed. We had dinner there and the meal was excellent. We had never had dinner at a B&B and this was gourmet restaurant level cooking. This place is on the outskirts of Whangarei and wasn't near restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the red room. Loved the historic house and the surroundings and the furnishings were lovely and thought provoking with rich colours and textures throughout. The breakfasts were amazing and kept us full until dinner time. We had one dinner at the house, cooked by Andy, and it was lovely - and generous sizes. The rec room with pool table was a hit with me and my partner - except he kept winning. And 'Peanuts' the cat was a friendly addition to the experience as well as the wood pigeons in the palms. Overall - highly recommend.

Room Tip: The red room was a great size to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning boutique accommodation redesigned for privacy and relaxation. Nestled in dry-stone walled gardens with pool and free wireless internet. Guest lounge with snooker table, library, PC, DVD collection. Gourmet breakfast is included and a restaurant-style dinner menu is available. Our rooms are situated in a historic Category II listed villa and an adjacent converted 2-storey barn. In keeping with a boutique hotel, both dwellings are exclusively for guest accommodation. Each superior ensuite room has contemporary uncomplicated decor, cotton linen, bathrobes, DVD, air-con, ipod dock and 32" flat screen TV. 10 Mins from Whangarei city and spectacular Tutukaka Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupton Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.