We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food, fab place, fab host.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lupton Lodge to your Saves list
Lupton Lodge
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab food, fab place, fab host.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

What a great introduction to NZ! We were made to feel especially welcome and having flown half way round the world, we entered a relaxed, luxurious, easy going holiday with a gourmet twist. What fantastic food! Can't say enough about how good the food was - still thinking about it now, a year later!
Rooms beautiful - what the New Zealanders call a heritage building. V comfy bed!
Also extremely helpful host who pointed us in the right direction for things to do after our stay.
Not much going on around the lodge in walking distance, unless you want to pick fruit, but the pool and games room were the relaxed introduction we needed to get our holiday off to an amazing start.
The a la carte breakfast is a must!

Room Tip: We stayed in the gold room, which was very comfy, the en suite was as big as the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    21
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
105
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We went up North for a couple of days to get out of Auckland and stayed at Lupton Lodge. Fabulous accommodation, very friendly and helpful hosts, yummy breakfast & dinner options. Excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We booked into this lodge as we were looking for top quality comfortable accommodation that was quiet, as this was a business trip. The accommodation was neat and tidy, with everything you needed. The breakfast included in the price of the room was delicious! And Andy the host was so welcoming and helpful. The only down side is that because it's out of the city centre, you'd need your own transport to get there. But this to us was a plus because of the peace and quiet and the peaceful surroundings:) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Knowing we'd be pretty zonked after a long flight from the UK we opted for a touch of luxury on arrival in NZ and a few nights in one place to recharge our batteries. Lupton Lodge might be in a tranquil spot surrounded by orchard, garden and paddock but it is in easy reach of awesome forest giants, the historic and picturesque town of Russell and the Bay of Islands, waterfalls, fern encrusted forest, beaches and mountains.

Our suite ( ) in the period building had a large bedroom stylishly decorated with deep red walls, sumptuous fabrics, traditional desk and dark polished wooden floor. Large sash windows looked out onto the gardens and pretty white-washed verandah. The adjoining dressing/sitting room had a fridge with facilities for making drinks and fresh milk was always on tap. Off that was a lovely spacious bathroom. As it was my birthday we opted to dine in the first night, owner Andy cooking a scrumptious local fish dish accompanied by wine and dessert – perfect!

Other entries describe the fab breakfasts so I'll skip to Andy's generous help with our travel plans. We explained that we wanted to see and photograph as much scenery, animal and plant life as possible. His suggestions were spot on, complete with travel times, stopping off places and cafe recommendations. He even gave us details of the best hot springs spot to visit on the next leg of the trip. Thanks also for the loan of plant and bird guides – invaluable!

Jenny and Chris

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed here en route to Doubtless Bay from Rotorua, and again on our return back to Auckland. Ok, so it's a little off the main SH but well worth the detour.

Fabulous find - lovely old villa tastefully and sympathetically furnished throughout. Spacious room with everything and more. There is even a fridge in the hallway with fresh milk and water for guests.

Andy missed his way as a chef, the breakfasts and evening meals were amazing - good selection of wines and beers too. There is a great room detached from the main house with an extensive library - books/dvds/cds and a snooker table - again tastefully done. Also free internet access, invaluable for checking-in our return flights to the UK. We didn't get the chance to use the outdoor pool, but will on our next visit!

The approach is very flexible and relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. Andy has a wealth of knowledge and information about NZ and is indeed an i-site himself!

We will be back and have recommended it to our friends in Auckland too.
Thanks Andy & Karen

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Lupton Lodge is one of those places that are simply special. The atmosphere is serene, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the garden and orchard are inspiring and the food is outstanding. The one "problem" is that you need a car to get there.

If you are on a road trip and need some place to have a great, relaxing night, then this is suited for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We are a family of three and we had two lovely adjoining rooms. We took the option of dining at the Lodge and really enjoyed our evening meals. We swam in the pool and played pool in the games room. Andy is a convivial host who has the exact balance between making you feel at home, chatting and also giving you the space to relax. We loved the breakfast and our one night felt like a really special family time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning boutique accommodation redesigned for privacy and relaxation. Nestled in dry-stone walled gardens with pool and free wireless internet. Guest lounge with snooker table, library, PC, DVD collection. Gourmet breakfast is included and a restaurant-style dinner menu is available. Our rooms are situated in a historic Category II listed villa and an adjacent converted 2-storey barn. In keeping with a boutique hotel, both dwellings are exclusively for guest accommodation. Each superior ensuite room has contemporary uncomplicated decor, cotton linen, bathrobes, DVD, air-con, ipod dock and 32" flat screen TV. 10 Mins from Whangarei city and spectacular Tutukaka Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupton Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.