We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden centre delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolt Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jolt Cafe
Maunu Road, Whangarei, New Zealand
021573052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 83 Restaurants in Whangarei
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Garden centre delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My eggs benedict was one of the best ever. Coffee was nice and hot (We asked for it to be extra hot). We took our visitors there for a meal and their reaction was that we could not have taken them anywhere better. Well worth a visit with the garden centre an added bonus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, pity about the coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Lovely surroundings, sunny inside in afternoon. The two coffees were luke warm, the cakes arrived well after we had finished the coffees. The lemon, white chicolate tart did not taste of either ingredient. The biscotti was taken home as there was no coffee left to dunk it in. What a disappointing visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Went there 27th May after my husband's hospital visit because we had been told the fish and chips were the best. Must be cos they had just sold the last one. Hubbie had Parsnip and Ginger soup and I had the Prawn, Pumpkin and Herb Rissotto. Hubbie said his soup was bland but my Prawns were to die for. Perfectly cooked creamy rice, nice, firm pumpkin and lots of prawns. I actually cleaned out the bowl which is unusual for me. Staff were friendly but the tea when it came was lukewarm and watery. All in all a very nice place to eat and I shall be going back again this weekend, hopefully to try the fish and chips.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, null, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“coffee and cake stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

had a really great coffee and some cake here. attractive cabinet filled with goodies. pleasant outlook next to the garden center. saw some nice looking meals go out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe and lovely staff... Average food though... But great coffee!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had breakfast here recently and we enjoyed it. Overall yes, we enjoyed it. The coffee was fab, the staff lovely and attentive, the setting gorgeous... However the food was a little lacking. I think they could benefit from spending a little more on better produce. It's counter productive to use cheap produce!! But hey... All in all we enjoyed it. Had seconds on coffee... They run two blends as well which is a lovely touch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolt Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Jolt Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolt Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.