We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a cut above” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whangarei Quarry Gardens

Whangarei Quarry Gardens
37a Russell Road, Kensington | Kensington, Whangarei, New Zealand
+64 9-437 7210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 37 things to do in Whangarei
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whangarei Quarry Gardens is a subtropical oasis created by volunteers in the remnants of a former quarry in Northland, New Zealand. The Gardens are open to the public and feature subtropical gardens, native forest walks, waterfalls, streams, quarry ruins, tunnels, a scented Camellia collection, a plethora of NZ native and exotic plant species and so much more... The Gardens are a work in progress and have been created through the blood, sweat, tears and laughter of volunteers, supporting companies and other interest groups. Entry is by GOLD-COIN DONATION, with all proceeds used to purchase plants and equipment. Thanks!
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a cut above”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

an amazing transformation from quarry to gardens; a great interlude on your travels.. great variety and some good photo opps...

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for the positive review! Yes there are many wonderful photo opportunities at the Gardens, we hope to see you back again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“community creating beatuy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I loved to see the transformation from a quarry to those beautiful gardens. it really inspired me. that it is all done by a community of volunteers is even better. Highly recommend to visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for the positive review! Whangarei Quarry Gardens is a work in progress and we are very proud of the results our volunteers have achieved so far :) We hope to see you back again soon

-WQG Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quiet Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I paid a visit here and we were really pleased that we did. The gardens are peaceful, full of colour & wildlife and make excellent use of the natural features of the old quarry site. We spent a good hour here and I would recommend it to any visitors.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for the positive review! The Gardens are a peaceful oasis indeed, and we are very proud of the efforts of our volunteers :) We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peace and beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We happened upon these beautiful gardens quite by chance, and how lucky we were! Such a variety of plants in the most glorious of settings and maintained by a bunch of dedicated volunteers, with entry by donation. A gem with a surprise around every corner, well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for the positive review and your donation to the cause :) The Gardens really are a hidden gem. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

A pleasant way to while away a couple of hours in the tranquility of these gardens.I found it a bit steep in places but it didn;t detract from the beauty of the place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for the positive review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Yes it is worth noting that some of our tracks are steep in places, although most of the gardens are found in the relatively flat valley-floor. All the best and we hope to see you back again soon! - WQG Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whangarei Quarry Gardens also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Whangarei Quarry Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whangarei Quarry Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.