We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An artist's paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whangarei Quarry Gardens

Whangarei Quarry Gardens
37a Russell Road, Kensington | Kensington, Whangarei, New Zealand
+64 9-437 7210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Attractions in Whangarei
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whangarei Quarry Gardens is a subtropical oasis created by volunteers in the remnants of a former quarry in Northland, New Zealand. The Gardens are open to the public and feature subtropical gardens, native forest walks, waterfalls, streams, quarry ruins, tunnels, a scented Camellia collection, a plethora of NZ native and exotic plant species and so much more... The Gardens are a work in progress and have been created through the blood, sweat, tears and laughter of volunteers, supporting companies and other interest groups. Entry is by GOLD-COIN DONATION, with all proceeds used to purchase plants and equipment. Thanks!
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An artist's paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I love, love, love the Quarry Gardens! My kids and I have taken many art classes there....from painting to sculpting. I love the hippy/artist commune feel of it and every time I'm there, I'm overwhelmed with creative energy.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Many thanks for the positive review!

However, I have a feeling that you have us confused with the wonderful Quarry Arts Centre in Selwyn Ave, Whangarei :) Don't worry, it happens often (the 'Quarry' is a bit confusing), you are welcome at both organisations anytime! They are our favourite neighbours (we are connected by a 45 minute bush walk) and they do a wonderful job for our creative community :)

All the best, we hope to see you in the Gardens soon! -WQG Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Garden Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

A garden formed by volunteers from an old quarry. Truly splendid combination of native bush walks and scented flowers .The lake at the top(a five minute walk) is a peaceful and beautiful spot for lunch or morning and afternoon tea. Don't pass through whangarei and miss this. It is easy to find and just a one minute drive off the western bypass.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Many thanks for your positive review! We love our Gardens and are very proud of our volunteers' efforts. Summer is coming! See you soon -WQG Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“An afternoon delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just love the quarry gardens. I wish my mum was still alive to '''enjoy'''' it.
There were no cafes and unsure about toilets but that is all this place needs. There are scented gardens for the blind easy walking tracks and the walk all around the lake is WOW'
An afternoon delight

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A lovely walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Really worth stopping for a walk through these gorgeous gardens. So many surprises there too. It is in a good location and not to far from the main road.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Developing Gardens run by Volunteers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is an excellent example of a garden created by volunteers. The road there is a little off the beaten track but the garden is worth a visit. It was made from an old quarry, and continues to be improved - all done by volunteers. A series of tracks lead off the carpark, the main one leads to a lake with a waterfall. There are side tracks that lead to higher ground, offering good views of the garden. Subtropical plants thrive there due to the local microclimate (and the skills of the volunteers).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whangarei Quarry Gardens also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Whangarei Quarry Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whangarei Quarry Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.