We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute 'must visit' in Northland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RED Pizzeria

RED Pizzeria
3 Kensington Avenue, Whangarei, New Zealand
0800 733 74992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 83 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Italian, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“An absolute 'must visit' in Northland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I'm based in Auckland and was in Whangarei today for business, finished off a tough day of appointments by having dinner with two of my favourite clients who suggested this restaurant; I can't thank them enough. I had the prawn entrée - phenomenal! The amazing avocado mousse is to die for. Had the steak main which was cooked to absolute perfection with just the right portions and finally was blown away by the red lava signature dessert. This place is as good as any fine dining I've experienced in the bigger cities in NZ - I give it my highest endorsement. Whoever set this restaurant up is a genius - please do one in Auckland!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRed, Manager at RED Pizzeria, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Your appreciation of our restaurant is valued. Thank you for taking the time to give us such high praise. Our team all work hard to provide the best service possible. Thanks again! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Amazing Food, excellent service. Very stylish place to eat. Red shawls are a added bonus when they weather gets cold. Great outdoor area for larger groups.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRed, Manager at RED Pizzeria, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback! We look forward to hosting
you again soon at RED :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Food, Staff & Location - Must Try!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Well it was a surprise this business has been here for 3 years and first time I have visited it. We won a voucher in a raffle for $100. We came into the Takeaway Area not knowing. The staff member was great and realised quickly we have never been there. He explained how it worked it was a Thursdays night which is usually booked but he found a booth for 6 of us at short notice. Recommend you book first. Gage our host welcomed us and give us menus and cold water for the table. We asked about the lunch menu because we will cautious. Pizza's were yummy and dining in is differently a must try! Would highly recommend this to other people. Make sure you ask for Gabe - great service. Also there is a pizzeria puzzle and colouring book + pens to amuse the kids while waiting for the pizza to arrange. Other things on the menu pasta, salad and a good selection of wines. If I wasn't full I would of tried the dessert next time. My kids really enjoyed the experience and were really well behaved. In some places in Auckland restaurants give a small discount for well behaved kids. :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRed, Manager at RED Pizzeria, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review! Wow! We always aim to give all our customers a positive experience and we are so glad that we have impressed new customers! We look forward
To having you done with us again soon! Thanks again for your positive feedback :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“LOOK NO FURTHER THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant seems to surprize me everytime I come here! The service is fantastic! Great to see some wait staff with personality! They were helpful and friendly to all tables around around our group whom all looked like they were enjoying thier meals, we ordered the function.package for $25 and was amazed and blown away by the speed of service, variety of meals AND amount of good tasty food! We even had a gluten free guest who had all her needs catered to WITH a smile! The meter long pizza looks amazing and was so packed full of flavour - simply impressive! Well done to the kitchen team, the restaurant was very busy and the meals i saw go out looked amazing, and judging by thr expressions of a few guests around us tasted amazing too! I know I will be back as will the guests as they have defined good dining in this town. Well done Red Pizzeria! Finally a quality place to eat in this town!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRed, Manager at RED Pizzeria, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your favourable comments - you sounded very impressed! We work hard as a team to create positive lasting impressions for our customers and we are so glad you chose RED as your dinner destination. We noticed you were a 4/5 star review- was there something we could have done better? All suggestions welcome :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The best place in town, I don't go anywhere else anymore, going out for dinner? Red pizzeria is your place! Everything and everyone is really good!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRed, Manager at RED Pizzeria, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We like happy customers! Thank you for your great feedback and commitment to our restaurant, returning customers opinions are always valued in our business and we appreciate your review and your compliments! See you again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RED Pizzeria also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to RED Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RED Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.