We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food, atmosphere, service top notch!!!!...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RED Pizzeria

RED Pizzeria
3 Kensington Avenue, Whangarei, New Zealand
0800 733 74992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 83 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Italian, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“food, atmosphere, service top notch!!!!...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have recently been holidaying in Whangarei and had heard about Red pizzeria, my friends had said it was outstanding and really groovy so had to try it!..rounded up a couple of girlfriends and booked in...was a really lovely evening, very modern and relaxing atmosphere...great music, cool friendly super efficient staff....food was outstanding, fresh, tasty, just stunning on the plates...i had the prawns and then a chicken fettuccine..AMAAAZZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!... friends had pizzas and was fantastic...love the breads and the cool red pizzeria branded garlic butter tubes...very unique!!..well done to all at RED..have spread the word on facebook and haven't stopped raving about it....keep up the great work!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday to forget...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had been to Red Pizzeria before and enjoyed ourselves but our most recent experience was unfortunately ruined because of the arrogant owner. Firstly, it was my birthday so my wife and 2 litle girls made me a birthday cake, that management were going to charge us $15.00 to have on the premises as they sell deserts - how sad for my kids. The food was nice and the service from the waiter was really good but they didn't have a childrens menu or children's portions and then they charged us $0.50 for a pizza box for the leftovers. The kicker was when we went to pay with our credit card, the waiter was about to put it through without telling us that there was a surchage, luckily we noticed the tiny sign at the counter before he could so we paid by eftpos. When we told the owner we didn't agree with the surcharge, especially in the hospitality industry she got upset and proceeded to get into an arguement with my wife!!!! She was overly defensive, to the point where she was basically attacking my wife for her opinion. Sorry, but because of this we won't be coming back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRed, Manager at RED Pizzeria, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Red Pizzeria has now joined Trip Advisor and are able to comment on customer responses.

At Red we appreciate customers feedback it as it helps us to gauge our customers needs. We also think it's important to give our customers plenty of choices - from our food and wine selection to additional purchases and payments options.

The guests in this review were offered full information details of our housemade giant chocolate chip cookie for birthdays or special occasions and of our service charge policy for outside cakes in the restaurant.

The female diner ordered our cookie with a personalised Happy Birthday message and also advised she would be bringing in a cake when she phoned to make a reservation. We then stored this cake and brought it out to the table with plates & napkins etc following the presentation of the cookie to the male diner.

Upon payment at the completion of the meal the female guest was asked if she had enjoyed their family meal, she said that she couldn't fault the food or the service but did not agree with managements surcharge of 1.5% on credit cards that she was informed of .

This is a very common procedure due to bank service charge fees to vendors and when this was explained she responded by saying she understood 'why' as she worked in a bank.

Eftpos payments incur no restaurant fees but she chose to use her credit card. She then stated that she would never return to any business that charged guests for using credit cards and bringing in their own cake (?)

We see this as perhaps a misunderstanding between the guests rather than of our restaurant as all options had been advised.

We are sorry that they did not choose to eat their birthday cake the children made at home, and we apologize that the approximate $1.30 card fee caused such stress.

However, we hope that these guests will understand that we believe we are helping our customers by being informative and giving them options - and we would welcome them dining with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very nice place for a casual meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

First visit to Red Pizzeria, and we were impressed. The pizzas are definately gourmet, and the service is fine. Well themed environment, and great if you have a large party (we did) Recommended when you want a casual night out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

we came here to have some pasta, the day before we ran half marathon :) this place is kinda hidden away from the centre, but the food is great :) my smoked chicken pasta came in crispy shell. very enjoyable. we also had lasagne which was freshly baked. will definatelly be back for some pizza next time cause it looked great :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent pizzas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a dinner here last night, it was the first time for our family but others have been here before. Reservation was made 2 weeks ago - which is useful if you are having a large slab pizza. Between 6 adults we had this massive long pizza ($80) between us and there were still plenty of leftovers to take home once we were done. The restaurant was clean, the staff was courteous, I will definitely return again - probably with a few more people to finish that pizza.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RED Pizzeria also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to RED Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RED Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.