We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely walking holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bream Head Coast Walks

Bream Head Coast Walks
395 Ody Road, R D 4, Whangarei 0174, New Zealand
09 434 0571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 attractions in Whangarei
Type: Hiking Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are Northland's first three-day private unguided walk. Situated at Whangarei Heads our boutique walk encompasses private farmland, stunning ocean and harbour beaches, rural roads, recreational reserves and public walkways. Start each day from our immaculately presented lodge and walk through an amazing variety of landscapes. At the end of the day return for a delicious dinner prepared by us and cooked by you. This outstanding natural experience will leave you with lasting memories.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely walking holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Lodge was comfortable, well set-up and had a high standard of cleanliness. We watched the sunrise from the front deck and later relaxed with our wine in the sheltered outdoor area at the back.
Claire's home cooked food was delicious. She was a friendly, efficient host, providing us with a drop off/pick up service.
We particularly enjoyed walks on days 2 and 3. We walked the ridge line climbing from Ocean Beach Rd finishing Urquart Bay (day2). And Mt Manaia (day 3). Both were steep and afforded spectacular views. It gave us great satisfaction to be able to look up at these high points and say,"we've been there".
Overall we were very pleased with the BHCW experience.

Visited October 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“best walking holiday - jane t”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This walking and accommadation package exceeded our expectations! - walks varied in length and terrain: over farmland, through native bush, down empty ocean beaches, into beautiful little bays and up and across stunning headlands. 3 days of excellent hosting (by claire the owner) - she did all the arranging, transport, delicious and plentiful meals. 3 course dinners - you just heat when ready to eat, fresh farm eggs and homemade cereal for breakfast, home baking for sweet treats. you make your own lunch from food provided. claire helps you organise a days walking - quite tough longer walks or much easier ambles. The lodge is modern, exceptionally clean and comfortable. I loved the outdoor bath and stunning views. We thought it was northland and kiwi hospitality at its best.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The scenery is great. We recommend a walk down to Smugglers cove (bay?). It is very quiet and sheltered, and also has excellent shade in the summer. There are also more walks for the more energetic!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great walks, bit steep at times though. Varied scenery. Tracks are being improved so may be much better. Watch out for local cattle - they can get a bit "Up close"!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were thrilled with the Bream Head Coast Walk experience. We (two Americans) ended up in the lodge with 9 Kiwis from a hiking club and had an absolutely fabulous time. Claire (the owner) is very well organized, and she does all the arrangements...meeting with us each night to tell us about the day hike for the next day and giving us several options. She transported us back and forth from locations (and even arrived with popsicles after an especially hot day!)

The area is remote and beautiful. You really feel as if you get to know the countryside when you are away from the crowds. And the best part is you do not have to worry about meals. Claire prepares outstanding gourmet meals each night (you just need to heat it up) and has plenty of choices for breakfast and for making your own lunch during the hike. We did a lot of hiking (including the Milford Track and Tongariro, but we were so glad we chose this type of hike as we got a great north island experience!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bream Head Coast Walks also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Bream Head Coast Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bream Head Coast Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bream Head Coast Walks to your Saves list