We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whangarei Heads” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bream Head Coast Walks

Bream Head Coast Walks
395 Ody Road, R D 4, Whangarei 0174, New Zealand
09 434 0571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 attractions in Whangarei
Type: Hiking Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are Northland's first three-day private unguided walk. Situated at Whangarei Heads our boutique walk encompasses private farmland, stunning ocean and harbour beaches, rural roads, recreational reserves and public walkways. Start each day from our immaculately presented lodge and walk through an amazing variety of landscapes. At the end of the day return for a delicious dinner prepared by us and cooked by you. This outstanding natural experience will leave you with lasting memories.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Whangarei Heads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Did the track up Mt Manaia, wonderful experience and views to die for.
Checked out all the Surf Beaches, just amzing
Walked the coastal tracks. Well kept and not too taxing on the body .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bream Head home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Walk was on our "to do" list and have come away with nothing but great memories. The walk itself was described exactly as it was, for us having great weather made it even more stunning. Our Hosts were most obliging and after a hard day's walking it was a treat to come back to our evening meal prepared for us - like having our own master chef!! Accommodation was superb . Claire supplied transport for the day two walk and also on the return journey. Nothing was any trouble too her.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale, Pembrokeshire UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“steep and natural footpath through rich forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Get up early on a hot day, watch the early morning mist lift to a dry beautiful day which you can peer at through the thick forest of ferns and huge mature tangled trees. I enjoyed the fact that the path was not a board walk although the one section is now being made into steps and board walk as we saw helicopters flying the wood work in! i enjoyed the slight fear of falling off the steep and the feeling of being far away from people as no one else joined me for the walk. the bottle nosed dolphins surfing in the bay were also a welcome addition to a fabulous walk.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bream Head Coast Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just home from three days staying at Bream Head and looked after by Claire Pearson. I was with a party of ten and our time in the area was perfect. Claire provided all our food and welcomed us to her comfortable lodge. She was never far away and provided transport to the start of our daily walks and was waiting for us at the end. A lovely touch at the end of a long day on the Bream Head walk was the frozen Fruju. Claire explained the walking options available and provided information to take with us each day. She helped us decide what was best for us. I was very impressed with the personal touch and the attention to detail.
The food was exceptional. Breakfast was homemade meusli and freshly laid eggs etc. . Lunch was made by us from a generous supply of fillings for sandwiches. There were delicious homemade cookies and cakes for morning and afternoon tea. Dinner always included a platter of nibbles to go with our drinks, a delicious main course and dessert. Well done Claire. Staying with Bream Head Coastal Walks is a wonderful experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
“The best place to stay if you suffer from allergies.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was the first time I was able to eat away from home without the worry of becoming sick, as Claire cooked all the meals according to my very difficult diet. And the meals were delicious. We were looked after so well, Claire showed us the walks, dropped us and picked us up, great place to stay.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bream Head Coast Walks also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Bream Head Coast Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bream Head Coast Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bream Head Coast Walks to your Saves list