We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bream Head Coast Walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bream Head Coast Walks

Bream Head Coast Walks
395 Ody Road, R D 4, Whangarei 0174, New Zealand
09 434 0571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Activities in Whangarei
Type: Hiking trails, Outdoor Activities, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Northland's first three-day private unguided walk. Situated at Whangarei Heads our boutique walk encompasses private farmland, stunning ocean and harbour beaches, rural roads, recreational reserves and public walkways. Start each day from our immaculately presented lodge and walk through an amazing variety of landscapes. At the end of the day return for a delicious dinner prepared by us and cooked by you. This outstanding natural experience will leave you with lasting memories.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bream Head Coast Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just home from three days staying at Bream Head and looked after by Claire Pearson. I was with a party of ten and our time in the area was perfect. Claire provided all our food and welcomed us to her comfortable lodge. She was never far away and provided transport to the start of our daily walks and was waiting for us at the end. A lovely touch at the end of a long day on the Bream Head walk was the frozen Fruju. Claire explained the walking options available and provided information to take with us each day. She helped us decide what was best for us. I was very impressed with the personal touch and the attention to detail.
The food was exceptional. Breakfast was homemade meusli and freshly laid eggs etc. . Lunch was made by us from a generous supply of fillings for sandwiches. There were delicious homemade cookies and cakes for morning and afternoon tea. Dinner always included a platter of nibbles to go with our drinks, a delicious main course and dessert. Well done Claire. Staying with Bream Head Coastal Walks is a wonderful experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
“The best place to stay if you suffer from allergies.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was the first time I was able to eat away from home without the worry of becoming sick, as Claire cooked all the meals according to my very difficult diet. And the meals were delicious. We were looked after so well, Claire showed us the walks, dropped us and picked us up, great place to stay.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bream Heads Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from a relaxing three day stay in this lovely clean and comfortable holiday lodge. Claire is in fact as awesome as all the previous reviewers say. The food is healthy, beautifully presented and comes in very generous amounts. Loved it. The walks are numerous and Claire will help with choices depending on your fitness and capability. I personally wished I had listened to her and read the instructions on the info leaflet provided with more care. Some of the tracks are being refurbished or upgraded and I for one will try to come back if I can when this work is completed. It is a lovely part of new Zealand to explore, Claire's exceptional skills make this a holiday to remember.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for three nights with three others in October and enjoyed every minute. (Although the lodge accommodates much larger groups). The private, purpose-built lodge was extremely comfortable with great facilities and a view across farmland to the sea. Very relaxing. Would have spent more time outside under the covered barbecue area ideal for groups but encountered some wind and a little rain. This just made the walking more of an adventure and some under cover of bush so no problem. Spectacular landscapes and plenty of options for walkers of all fitness levels. Host Claire most accommodating with pick ups, drop offs and information. Catering was impressive - nutritious and delicious. I will be going back. If you're after a bargain, check out the special off-season rates.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend at Breamhead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a fabulous weekend staying at Bream Head Coast Walks Lodge and having such warm and wonderful hosts. The walks were stunning - Ocean beach was just beautiful - so pure with it's white sand - such a tranquil place. The food was delicious and healthy and the lodge was well equipped, clean and tidy.
Perfect.
Thank you from the Barzottos

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bream Head Coast Walks also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Bream Head Coast Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bream Head Coast Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.