We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tutukaka Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tutukaka Holiday Park
Save
You added Tutukaka Holiday Park to your Saves list
285 Matapouri Rd | Tutukaka, Whangarei, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Fantastic...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We rolled in a little late, but Grant was very friendly and got us situated. We were were the only tent campers in the park so we had plenty of space. The facilities are very nice, bathrooms and warm showers were close and clean and the kitchen area made our stay more comfortable than we had expected. It's a great location, green and lovely, quiet, except for the cows on the adjacent property, but that added to the ambience. We became fast friends with an inquisitive and hungry duck (we named him Bagel). We loved this experience and we absolutely would stay here again. Grant, if you make it to Colorado on your upcoming travels, please look us up. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Reserve in advance if you're visiting in the high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
13
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The camp grounds are big, plenty of space allowed for tents and campervans.
Only one trampoline (in bad need of the surrounding net being replaced as the holes were letting the kids fall out), but the lack of play stuff did not put any of em off. Perhaps it was the right mix of people on those particular days?
Close to the marina, which has a well stocked supermarket, pizzeria, sea fang club, diving centre etc so plenty to do on the doorstep.
The campsite was clean and had the usual facilities you would expect.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

What a pleasant surprise!
The staff were so welcoming and happy to recommend good walks and things to do in the area.

We stayed in a 12 bed dorm. It had ample room, the beds were clean and comfortable.

The bathrooms were also clean.

Nice big communal kitchen area, and great outdoor BBQ area.

All in all I highly recommend this place & will defiantly be staying here again sometime.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The camp ground is well maintained, has reasonable amenities and is in a great location. There is so much to do in this area including fantastic walks around the coast, visits to Matapouri beach, fish and chips in Ngunguru and diving at Poor Knights. If you're after a simple camp ground or a basic but tidy cabin then this place is for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

The guy running this place shouldn't be running a camping ground. No people skills and very up tight. For some reason thinks everyone is out to rip him off. That said the facilities are great but I definately won't be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This is an easy to find camp site on the edge of Tutukaka. If you are diving, you can walk to the marina in about 5 minutes. It seems to be a popular site but it is quite large and pitch size is generous. First appearances are a little forbidding in that there are a number of rules notices posted around the site – however it would seem that in the past, the site owner has had problems with people using site facilities without paying and is determined to stop it since paying users suffer. The camp kitchen is large and clean, the family space next to it is quite reasonable, washing machines cost $3, toilets are large and clean and although showers (7 mins hot water) cost 0.50c, we were given two 50c coins by the owner when we checked in. Finally, the dump station is easy to use. In summary, this is a well run, quiet camp site and is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tutukaka Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tutukaka Holiday Park

Address: 285 Matapouri Rd | Tutukaka, Whangarei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Whangarei
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean ,quiet holiday park. Modern cabins ,some with ensuites, kitchens,linen,tv's. Large kitchen and ablutions building for motor homes and campers to use . Freindly and affordable. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tutukaka Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.