We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eden House Whangarei” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden House
510 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eden House Whangarei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked three nights on our trip North, we enjoyed it so much we stopped for three more nights en route back to Auckland ! The reception, hosts, quality, value for money, meals, pool and spotless comfortable rooms made it a must to hurry back to. After four weeks in NZ it has yet to be beaten. Richard and Carole made us feel like we were stopping with friends and made us feel so at home. It is a " must stay" for anyone looking for accommodation in the North. Beaches nearby to die for - nobody on them !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi both,

It's so kind of you to do such a lovely review. It was a delight having you here in Eden. A little cooler this week but the pool is still warm. (Just as well as I've got to jump in to change one of the steps!) Hope you had a good journey home? At least you will shortly be entering spring, we often think of all those daffodils and then bluebells that we miss as we don't have such a profusion of them here!

You will recall the celebration on your first night? Well we are off later this year to Brisbane to collect the award.

Take care, thank you again, and maybe we'll meet up again sometime..?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We (my wife and I) spent an amazing Auckland anniversary weekend at the Eden House. For us it was the perfect B&B. Beautiful location within native forest, mindblowing beaches around the corner, lovely accomodation with stunning views. Breakfast with home made muffins was divine. Thank you Carole for baking extra gluten-free muffins for my wife. We can absolutely recommend to book a dinner. It was so delicious, we enjoyed every bite. But the most important thing was the amazing hospitality of Carole and Richard. We will definitely come back.

Thank you so much Carole and Richard!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
What a delightful review. Many thanks for your kind comments, and taking the time to give the feedback. I have to say your company was a pleasure and it was wonderful having you both stay. We've had a couple of rainy days, but that's filled the tanks so we can't complain.

The forest is steaming now as the early morning sun catches it, and it looks positively Jurassic!

I hope you had a good trip back to Auckland and that returning to work was too difficult! I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy our area. Would love to see you both again. Warmest wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renkum, the Netherlands
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After a warm welcome we were surprised by a wonderfull room, courteous deck and stunning views over the wooded mountains and the Pacific in the far distance! Richard and Carroll spoilt us four days with their delicious breakfasts, every day another culinary creation, freshly made with healthy ingredients and love! Also the dinner we enjoyed was great!
The location, with it's swimmingpool and private bush(walk), is a paradise for sun- and naturelovers. Highly recommended these excellent, helpfull, gentle and caring hosts, who make your stay unforgettable! Not to speak about what they did in Bhutan and other outposts in the world. Ask them to tell you about that, it's very inspiring and interesting!
Marja Kass and Klaas Strijbis, Renkum, The Netherlands

Room Tip: If available, choose the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to give such a kind review. It was a delight hosting you and we hope that you returned home safely and enjoyed the whole of your stay here in New Zealand.

The sun has slipped away today and the sea has disappeared into a low mist. But it is still warm and the palms are gently swaying in the light breeze. I hope the return to your winter was too bad?

Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My sister & I spent New Year with Carole & Richard and we could not have been given a warmer welcome to the local community. The setting is idyllic and the accommodation first rate. Many thanks and we would recommend anyone to stay here. You will not find better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for the review, it is most appreciated. It was lovely having you at the New Year party and pleased you enjoyed it. It is surprising how much history the area has. Was pleased you were able to see some of the sights that we had on the slide show quiz. After a day of rain we are back to the sunny skies and, the distant pacific is again a lovely blue. We hope that the rest of your stay in New Zealand is wonderful and you are able to take home many happy memories. Good luck with your lines!

Take care and warmest wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This beautiful bed and breakfast is off the beaten path and that is exactly what I was seeking. Although just 30 minutes on good road from Whangarei, you are in splendid isolation. From my spacious bedroom, I looked down a forested valley. The view may remind some guests of a "treetops" experience that is available at an African game reserve for many times the cost. It is absolutely quiet. At night, I could see the stars even when reclined on my bed. Oh yes, although Eden House is a bed and breakfast, you must have dinner with the hosts, Carole and Richard. They are great company. The food is delicious and reflects many different cuisines that they experienced during their travels around the world. The next day, I woke up early and saw a solar eclipse from atop Mt. Manaia. But I am not sure whether it was something of an anticlimax compared with my stay at The Eden House!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. The Eden Suite, where I stayed, has a beautiful view. The rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give such nice feedback about your stay with us. Also pleased that the weather was kind and you managed to see the solar eclipse. Mount Manaia is a great location and you can see why it's called the mystic mountain.

We are into the final two weeks of rehearsals for the show and it is going well. Today we're having a break and sorting out the garden ready for the forthcoming season. The bush trail needs some repairs and we are planting in the palm grove.

So pleased you had a safe and good journey back to Auckland. And look forward to catching up with our shared tales in the future.

Warmest wishes from Eden House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Eden House for three nights early November 2012 and really enjoyed our stay.

Our hosts, Richard and Carole, were very welcoming as we arrived and proved to be obliging as they helped us with our orientation and directions on how to get to the sights that the area has to offer.

After spending five nights by the water at Russell (further up the coast) it was nice to be in an elevated lush bush setting. Picturesque coast lines and walks are not far away. Whangarei is only about 19 KMs away so ‘town’ conveniences are nearby.

Our ensuited room was delightful and had a very comfortable bed. It also had views to the Pacific and Mt Manaia. Eden House is well appointed with large rooms, a library and TV room in addition to a huge combined lounge/ dining kitchen area. Heaps of DVDS and books on offer.

The breakfast was excellent with a large variety on offer. There’s cereals, toast, yoghurt, home-made walnut loaf, savoury scones, fruit, fruit juices, and of course a great cooked breakfast. With soft music in the background and views out to the Pacific, what more could you want? The breakfast set us up for the day.

Richard and Carole are experienced in what they do; they provide a very comfortable stay, a quiet night’s sleep, a great breakfast, and manage things reaqlly well so you enjoy the right balance between privacy and service.

We highly recommend Eden House!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Guys,

Thank you so much for your review, it is really appreciated. It was a delight having you stay here at Eden House. And the weather was so good, after a very poor start to our spring. Today the forecast was for rain and I'm now staring out at blue skies... Though mist is obscuring the coastline.

The birds are nesting in the eves and around the house, and provide for a nice dawn chorus.

We hope you had a great journey back and your drive to Auckland went smoothly. The harbour bridge tends to be quiet on a weekend.

Enjoy your Downton Abbey and hope your DVD plays ok. We are well into series 3 now. This Wednesday we are into technical rehearsals for the show so the curtain up is coming close now.

Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to do the review. Take care and may hear from you again sometime.

Warmest wishes from us both.

Eden House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Came back to Eden House for a quick couple of days during NZ's winter! It's a lovely area and some of the local scenery is wonderful. If you come then don't miss Smugglers Bay. It's a short walk over a hill then down to a beach which both times I've visited has been deserted!

Nearby A H Reed memorial park is lovely with a tree top canopy walk.

Richard and Carole's hospitality is second to none. Carole's cooking is great and if you're in to Mussels then try her NZ green mussels in lemon grass, oh heavenly!

Richard cooks the breakfast and the cooked choice is different each day. Beware if you're on a diet, it's too tempting!

We still can't get over the views. Each day it's different as the weather changes. I love the space of the place and it's so quiet. We never got to use all the facilities and would have loved to dip into the DVD collection as there are some great TV titles.

Returning to Eden was like coming home again. It is about 20 mins outside Whangarei but well worth the effort! Greatly recommended.

Room Tip: The Queen upstairs twin has a fantastic view - through the palm trees. The Four poster has oodles of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hi guys,

Many thanks again for taking the time for doing a review. And we're both over the moon you enjoyed your second stay. It was great meeting up again. Pleased you got home ok and enjoyed your visit to New Zealand. It must be good to see your grandchildren again...

At least you had some good weather and were able to visit our lovely area once more. Carole is searching her recipies for that one you suggested, next time we'll try that out.

Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 510 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning spacious Tuscan style home in a serene rural setting with spectacular views to the distant Pacific. Enjoy large luxury bedrooms, with private bathroom or en-suite. Two lounges, swimming pool, TV/DVD/Video library. 11 acres of private grounds. Ideal touring centre - beaches, scenic bays, walks, golf and other amenities nearby. Delicious cuisine:- Full Kiwi cooked breakfast plus continental selection. Delightful evening meals available. Unique theme dining evenings - Bhutanese and Pacific fare.Enjoy a traditional Kiwi Christmas with a four course dinner and relaxing ambience.Our motto? Arrive as guests, depart as friends. The ambience of Eden House is only exceeded by the warmth of your welcome! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eden House to your Saves list