We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and great owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge Bordeaux

Save Saved
You added Lodge Bordeaux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lodge Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   361 Western Hills Drive - State Highway 1, Whangarei, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Whangarei
Cowra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and great owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We booked in January 2011 for September. $195 per room (2). We found that all went very smoothly and the rooms were great. Our travelling companions also thought that Lodge Bordeaux was worth the money. The owners were welcoming and efficient.

Room Tip: You won;'t go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
29
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is by far the worst lodge I have ever dealt with, I have always been understanding and fair but this just shows how very poorly my booking was handled.
I made a booking with this lodge 7 months ago in advance for Rugby World Cup for me my husband and 3 children travelling from Auckland. Paid by credit card, got a confirmation and receipt emailed to me also.
Just 3 weeks ago I got an email from this lodge saying my booking had been cancelled and money refunded to my account. Very angry because they did not explain why.
After many emails sent to explain why, they finally replyed back that they were fully booked out and that they do not know how this could have happened and no apology but told us to look at other hotels around that might be available.
I have emailed them several times to explain to me how my booking went through if they say their lodge was fully booked out but up to this day I have not gotten a email from them.
My knowledge as to why this happened is simple. They wanted to cancel my booking and offer it to other tourists that will be coming to Rugby World Cup at a higher rate. Wanna pay $450 for a night in a 2 bedroom studio??? Because I paid $300 for 1 night to stay here in a 2 bedroom, I guess they were greedy and want to ripoff some tourist that will pay higher to stay there. Please do not reply back with some pathetic explanation to cover your mistake!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
When the guest made this booking in November, she was advised directly by email that the booking could not be accepted.

In July, by chance, we found that the booking was still showing on the Book-It site as a confirmed booking. As we were, by then fully booked, we contacted Book-It and advised that the booking should have been cancelled in November.

Despite what this guest claims, we HAVE apologised, and we phoned around other 4-4.5 Star Whangarei motels and arranged for a family unit at two properties. We then advised her that accommodation was available, and would be held for a few days, awaiting her decision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

great beds, lovely spaciouse rooms with comfortable furnishings. breakfast was great!! lovely service by the lodges minders. overall we were very pleased with our stay. thankyou.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed here for a night for business reason. The room was a standard shower studio. Price was $195 a night.

The room was of a reasonable size and was clean. For some reason, I was placed in a room which is purposely fitted out for a disabled customer. However, that did not bother me much, but would have been nice if I was told that was going to be the case. The kitchen was clean and functional. The bathroom was big (this was obviously the case due to the nature of the room but I would not be too sure about the other standard rooms) and clean with a full length mirror on the wall which I found to be a nice touch.

The TV was an LCD with SKY channels as well as a DVD player. TV reception was clear. There is also a radio clock at the bedside in case you need it.

Included with the room is a complimentary 50mb of free wireless internet connection.

Check in and out were quick and easy. Yes, you park you car right smack in front of your room. I did not find noise to be a factor during my stay.

All in all, a pleasant stay. In my point of view, $195 a night for a standard room is relatively expensive (it is a motel after all). In saying so, it is probably the only place that is anywhere close to being "luxurious" in Whangarei.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
We are glad that Gary, overall, had a good experience when he stayed at Lodge Bordeaux recently.

The room Gary booked online was indeed a Wheelchair Accessible room, and the description online states that it is a wheelchair accessible unit. The only difference to any of our other rooms is that the bathroom has been designed with a wet-floor shower, rather than a spabath with a shower over. The bathroom is the same size and has the same high standard of fixtures as any of our other rooms.

In all other respects the room is the same as any of our other studio rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Last minute booking online (night before) went smoothly, and our check in was fast. The room was outstanding, very spacious, very open, very clean and very modern. Very, very comfortable. The bath was awesome! Facilities in our room were great, we had no trouble making a full breakfast in the morning and it was so easy to scoop all the dishes into the dishwasher. They do deserve their 5 stars, and we will be back again next time we come to Whangarei for business. Just wish it hadn't rained so hard, as I was keen to use the heated swimming pool, but never mind there will be a next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I hope we can turn on better weather for your next visit!!! Regards, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This "lodge" is rated 5 star. Be aware that while this is probably one of the best accommodations available in the small town of Whangarei, it is located on a busy road that runs thru town, and away from the retail and tourist areas such as the harbour. It is really a motel where cars drive up to the front door of each unit - so you are potentially exposed to the noise and headlights from cars driving in late at night. The rooms are nice, but our 1 bedroom unit only had a very uncomfortable love seat to sit on?? The biggest issue was that we were charged $25 for 22 minutes of internet use - over $1 / minute. We found that hotel internet use in New Zealand and Australia is ridiculously expensive, but $25 for 22 minutes is out and out theft. Of course the manager blamed their third party service provider, but I suggested to him that at those rates, it is not much of a service and reflect very badly on the lodge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
To clear up a few points...
1. Lodge Bordeaux is a motel - not a hotel or a luxury lodge. Our Qualmark 5 Star rating is listed in the Self Contained and Serviced category, and all our guide book advertising lists us in the motel and motor lodge sections. With regard to location - yes, we are on a main highway, but our rooms have been designed with good insulation, hush glass in windows etc. We are approximately 10 minutes walk from the city centre - shopping, restaurants etc.
2. The uncomfortable "love seat" is in fact a reasonable sized 2 seater couch. In the One Bedroom Suites there is normally also an armchair. Possibly when these guests arrived the armchair had been removed as the chair caster had been broken by a previous guest, and we were waiting on a replacement caster. If we had been made aware that there was a problem with the seating arrangements, we would have done our best to find a suitable temporary replacement. We are unable to rectify a problem unless we are aware there is a problem.
3. The internet - our broadband internet is charged as follows...
30 mins = $5.00; 1 hour= $8.00; 2 hours=$12.00; 6 hours=$18.00; 1 day pass= $25.00
The guest must scroll down and chose the applicable time. These rates are clearly set out in the Guest Compendium on the dining table in each room.
Had the guests phoned reception and advised that there was a problem with their internet access, or if they had mentioned on checkout that access had been limited we would have discounted the internet useage from the bill. Once again, we can't fix what we don't know about.
Wireless internet is being introduced in the next few weeks.

It is unfortunate that the writer had such a poor view of Lodge Bordeaux. We always aim to give our guests a pleasurable experience when they visit Northland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

What a gem! The staff at this hotel were so interested in our travels and did everything to make sure we were well-cared for. Whether suggesting delicious restaurants (like the Mozart cafe!) or helping us track down lost items, they were fantastic. The real star here, though, is the accomodation! A spacious bedroom with one of the most comfy beds I've ever slept on was just the start! There was plenty of room for luggage and they even provide bathrobes! The kitchenette in each room is well stocked and very trendy. The entire room is decorately tastefully with every need considered! Being the lodge Bordeaux, there is even wine available in each room for purchase if you choose! The spa bath with large, fluffy towels and a towel warmer was a dream come true. There is a FREE laundry facility on-site, which was extremely useful after diving the Poor Knights. If you are anywhere near Whangarei, make it a priority to spend at least a night or two here- you won't regret it!! It is clean, luxurious, and a fair price for the incredible accomodation you'll surely enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Bordeaux

Address: 361 Western Hills Drive - State Highway 1, Whangarei, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lodge Bordeaux 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Bordeaux is Whangarei’s only Qualmark 5 Star motel offering luxury accommodation to the discerning traveller or business executive.Only 2 hours drive from Auckland and a short distance from Whangarei shopping and business district, restaurants, sports and conference facilities. Beautifully landscaped grounds with heated swimming pool.Room décor is sophisticated and elegant.The fabrics and linens are tasteful, the bathrooms are luxurious. Rooms are spacious, many have their own balcony/patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lodge Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge Bordeaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.