We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauri Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kauri Villas
Save
You added Kauri Villas to your Saves list
73 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was a fantastic place to stay. We booked a single room for three nights, and because the room next door was available, we were given access to another bedroom as well as the connecting living room. The hosts Susie and Drew are fantastic. Accommodating and friendly, there was nothing that we asked that seemed a bother. We went scuba diving while we were in the area, and Drew booked it for us with no hassle. We even used the pool and hot tub, which were fantastic! A great view and talkative sheep with easy access to the surrounding coast, this was a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
35
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

A much belated review on our experience at kauri Villas. We arrived on Xmas eve and had a wonderful stay over xmas with Drew and Susie. Everything that has been written is true. It is a beautifully maintained house with stunning views and a jacuzzi that looks across in to the sunset. They are very warm and welcoming and went out of their way to let us use all facilities, and gave us the best advice on the area.
We woke up on xmas day to a beautifully arranged breakfast with xmas decorations / chocolates, xmas cake and not to mention a lovely breakfast. We will never forget our special xmas at Kauri Villas and the warm hospitality we had for our first xmas away from home. We hope to be back!
Farah and Sheriff

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We spent two nights in the Lodge in this beautiful location.and it made a perfect start to our New Zealand holiday. It is true that the views are absolutely stunning, but what made this B & B stay so delightful was the hospitality and friendliness of Susie and Drew. Thank you for persuading us to stay for two nights. There is so much to see and do, perhaps we should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Kauri Villas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is about 20 minutes outside Whangarei along the road to the Whangarei Heads area. We stayed in the accommodation inside the lodge. The room was very clean and comfortable and had a sitting area attached. The Villa overlooks the outer harbor of Whangarei with stunning views all around. There is a wonderful deck and swimming pool to relax around with cattle and sheep paddocks adjacent. We spent most of our time hiking the fine trails in the area, to pristine beaches and climbs up the volcanic heads which overlook the coast line. Since we needed to do some laundry Susie volunteered to do ours which was much appreciated. Drew is an amateur pilot so I got to fly for almost an hour in a small plane with him and got unbelievable views of the mountains and beaches in the area. All for the price of the petrol. Drew and Susie are wonderful hosts and I would recommend the Kauri Villas for anyone looking for a B&B type accommodation in the Whangarei. My only complaint is that they do not take credit cards for payment so be prepared.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaurivillas, Owner at Kauri Villas, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. You were most welcome.

For the benefit of others I’d just like to say that they stayed in our main Kauri Villa on a B&B basis which does not nomally include guest laundry facilities! Our Lodge is a separate building which is fully self-contained, including laundry facilities.

We always advise guests well in advance that we don’t have credit card facilities. Most now pay on-line, and we have free wireless Internet. This seems to be the most economic form of payment for both parties. There is also an ATM just 3 minutes away at the local shops. More information is available on our web site!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

A warm welcome on our arrival from Susie and Drew who showed us around the property. We had opted for the self catering option which was separate building but were shown the swimmimng pool,spa and lounge area where we could use the WIFI and find the DVD's as well. The selfcatering cottage had everything and more that you could need including a dishwasher and a washing machine-all spotlessly clean. Drew showed us info. on numerous stunning beaches and walks around the area- and the best yoghurt icecreams with fresh fruit! We'd love to come back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We warmely thank Drew and Susie for their welcome, help and advises they gave us, even with the damage of one our luggage encountered with Air NZ, that toke several mounths to be sold.
The breakfast and meals are awesome, the house and surroundings beautifull and quiet.

A lovely place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

From arrival we were greeted with Drews warm Smile and were instantly felt like it was a home away from home. It was unexpected surprise after a late arrival at 1015pm but much appreciated.The property is well maintained with sheep for the kids to play with and the self contained cabin has all the latest whiteware. I found the rooms clean and with each bedroom having an ensuite the morning que for the shower is alleviated. My only tip if its raining outside bring dvds for the kids...its really hard to fault Kauri Villas the views, pool ,spa and walks its become obvious to all guests thats Kauri Villas sets the standards in Whangarei Heads Accomodation...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaurivillas, Owner at Kauri Villas, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. Sorry; we didn't realise you were looking for DVDs! We have quite a selection of DVDs, including several for children of various ages, which we keep in the main Villa specifically for our guests. We slipped up there in not letting you know! Drew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauri Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Villas

Address: 73 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Contained Accommodation and B&B. At Kauri Villas we offer more than a comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast. Lovingly restored villas set in tranquil native bush with streams and waterfalls. Facilities include spa and 11m pool with stunning views of the Bay and extensive decks to sit and watch the sunsets. All rooms with en suite facilities. Activities include games room, animals to feed and bush walks. Evening meals and functions by arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauri Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.