We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingdom of Zion

Kingdom of Zion
Gray Road, Kamo, Whangarei, New Zealand (Formerly Zion Wildlife Gardens)
09 435 0110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Whangarei
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The cats are awesome to watch, and getting in the enclosure with the cheetahs is a must! The staff are really nice and full of knowledge.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    36
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Purrfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The love and care of the big cats at Kingdom of Zion can't be faulted, Selena is a wonderful guide and shares that love, her knowledge is fantastic of all of the cats and I recommend a Tour.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Loved everything about it, went for a feed tour which was just wow and after that got to meet the cheetas. Still blown away. Staff are so professional and the cats are so beautiful and healthy. Will go again definitely!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience, but concerns over animal welfare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

First of all I'd like to say that the animals all look very healthy and well cared for but it's my personal opinion that some of the enclosures seem small for cats of their size. Now I know nothing about big cats so cages of this size may be perfectly adequate. The guide was a really friendly girl and knew what she was talking about, the animals were beautiful and seemed happy, it was nice to see the relationship they had with the keepers. All in all totally worth the money.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We learned so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

After arriving in New Zealand just a few days ago, we decided to head up north before starting our tour for the south island. As both my boyfriend and myself watched The Lion man growing up, it was our number 1 priority to go and visit Kingdom of Zion. We thought it was an incredible experience. We learned so much about all the cats and what they do in the wild ect. Thanks to our tour guide for giving us all the information. It is obviously that they all care for the cats. We walked away feeling overwhelmed about all they do to help these beautiful cats. We think you are all doing a perfect job! Could do with a better footpath yeah, but understand money doesnt grow on trees. Wear some trainers not flip flops your be fine! Thanks again to you all. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingdom of Zion also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Kingdom of Zion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingdom of Zion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.