We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but restaurant not good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flames International Hotel

Flames International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flames International Hotel to your Saves list
Flames International Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waverly St., Onerahi | P.O. Box 3038, Whangarei, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but restaurant not good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights and the room was great, good value, well equipped and quiet. The manager was friendly and assisted with local directions. The "gormet" restaurant had a great menu but let itself down with very slow service, despite almost no one eating there. Perhaps that was the problem and they are short staffed. The beef dishes were delicious but the belly pork and duck dishes were seriously undercooked and very,very fatty. Avoid!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
22
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here on an overnight trip from the far north. Robin the manager checked us in. Check in was very quick. The bedroom was well equipped and clean. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here. We had a meal in the restruant which was amazing. Tim the head chef is exceptional. The calamari and steak were cooked to perfection. Ahmed, who was on bar staff and waiting was a really friendly guy. We also got a late checkout at no extra cost. Hotel rates not much more than a backpackers for a double room. Overall a five star experience at this hotel. Would definently stay here again.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I feel bad writing this review because the staff at Flames International are just so friendly. I stayed here last week with my work, only for 1 night and as I arrived and left in the dark, I can't say anything about the views are are reportedly very nice. This hotel is out of town so not the most convenient. It is also smelly. I am not the most smell sensitive person, but on coming through the front door, it was apparent that all was not good. It was a difficult smell to describe - it wasn't obviously damp, more like a nursing home smell combined with stale cleaning fluids. However the reception was very welcoming. My room was large but oh so tired. Maybe not all the rooms are the same as mine looked nothing like the photos on the their website. It had 1980s wicker work furniture with terracotta/blue cushions and the bed was just a bit too soft. Internet is all a bit of a hassle as you have to create an account with Telecom and pre-load it before you can do any work. Having said all of this, the bathroom was nice. The communal areas were a bit cold but the barman (who has the most fabulous hair) was really, really friendly and there was a good selection of New Zealand wines and other drinks. Breakfast was adequate although I was in a bit of a rush so didn't try anything cooked. I didn't pay myself to stay at Flames as it was a work do so I can't say whether it was good value or not. It could be a great place but at the moment it just looks so tired that maybe it needs a rest...

Room Tip: Try and get the most recently refurbished ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

booked for two nights,stayed for three ,very quite rooms ,good beds , we had 8 guests for two evening meals , all loved the food , service was excellent & relaxed, we were treated like family ,will come back for sure

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were really surprised how clean and tidy the room and hotel are. Staff were great friendly and very helpful. We were listening to guest talking about the restaurant on our first night about how good the food was and we were blown away with the quality of the food. Well done guys keep up the good work and we will be back as there is more on the menu we want to try.
Last time we stayed in Whangarei was down the road at a large international hotel and this place far exceeded them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was out of town and also advertised a restaurant, we had been travelling all day. We had a booking for an "Executive Room". Arrived on a Sunday and the restaurant was closed.... because the chef also needs a day off!! Checked with the staff at the Lava Bar on site and were told it would be open and serving pizza until 8.00pm. Went down for a drink and pizza at 7.00pm and it was closed. The only choice was takeaways. The room was lovely and big with a small balcony which looked out on gorgeous grounds and the pool. The TV was very, very small and a no-longer made model, the choice of channels was very poor.
We would stay there again but would suggest the availability of meals in restaurant and also the bar outside is make clear on booking and also would not be satisfied with the channels and the age of the television.
The hotel was very empty the night we were there, we did not see another guest and it was an uneasy feeling because our room was a long way from the reception area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We got back from Flames today after a 3 night stay.It's the first time we've stayed OUT of the Central City, but it's only a short drive from the City into Onerahi. I agree with the review from "Meandmex" - this hotel ticked all the boxes for me.The rooms was spacious, and had everything we needed. I think ALL the rooms face the Harbour, and as they face West we had beautiful sunsets. The Pool was great and very welcome as the weather was glorious. We ate in the Restaurant, very good menu and food was excellent. To top it all off the staff were really friendly and helpful. We arrived early - and knew we were, but were happy to wait. Our room wasn't quite ready and the duty Manager kindly offered us a tea or coffee whilst we were waiting! We didn't accept but thought this was amazing service.Will certainly go back to Flames.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the Harbour, but might pay to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flames International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flames International Hotel

Address: Waverly St., Onerahi | P.O. Box 3038, Whangarei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flames International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, Flames International Hotel offers you the ultimate environment to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The hotel complex is situated on the hills of Onerahi and overlooks the beautiful Whangarei Harbour. All rooms are generously proportioned and equipped with mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities, tiled en-suite bathroom (shower and bath), balcony, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Vie Restaurant on site with sumptuous meals prepared by award winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Flames International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flames International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.