We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you need to sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pilgrim Planet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pilgrim Planet to your Saves list
Pilgrim Planet
63 Hatea Drive, Whangarei, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Blockley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you need to sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were really disappointed with this accomodation, perhaps I should have researched the location first but we didn't expect this motel to be on such a busy road. We paid a premium for what was described as the best room in the place but we should have realised that there might be an issue when the owner said that the traffic wasn't so bad when the windows were shut! be fair the room was spotless but it was one of the most expensive places we stayed in during our trip around NZ and due to 2 sleepless nights it really didn't give us value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilgrimplanet, Owner at Pilgrim Planet, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
I am sorry the reviewer feels they did not receive value for money. If he had spoken to me I would have gladly given them a discount or come to some other arrangement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a great place to stay. There are 4 really lovely rooms, all en suite, which open out on to a very large open plan lounge, kitchen and dining room all for communal use. The lounge is the best equipped we've seen - it has every mod con - big TV, DVD and Sky; big comfy sofas, games, selection of movies to watch. A really up market establishment. It's modern with some stylish and quirky decorative features. Everything one needs for breakfast is in the kitchen which is completely fitted out for independence, with cooker, fridge/freezer, dishwasher. The hosts have tried to think of everything travellers need and pretty much succeeded. There are books to read, free wi-fi and a lovely patio on which to take tea. We loved it. If we were forced to find a minor criticism, light sleepers should probably not book the front bedroom, but even there the owners have provided ear plugs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

This place is a little gem. Stunningly decorated, the bedrooms are situated off the guest living room which has all the facilities, the guest kitchen is fully equipped and the decking area is just lovely.

A really relaxed feeling, help yourself to breakfast in the kitchen at your leisure.

10 min walk to the town. The bedrooms are immaculate as is the whole place.

A real gem

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

This place was fantastic.. Not only are the premises clean but extremely well maintained and this place is a fantastic concept... Shared lounge, kitchen and office but your own room with ensuite and a "just help yourself breakfast"... The owners were fantastic and were more than happy to suggest restaurants and places to visit for our first trip to Northland.. Would definitely go back there again and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

This is a puprose built house with a separate level for guests. On the guest level there is a guest kitchen. Fully equipped and a pleasure to cook in.

Staff here are very pleasant and very helpful.

Will def stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We chanced upon this wonderful, designer accommodation as we followed the river towards Whangarei Basin and the city viaduct cafes. This new, three level, concrete building features historic Northland artifacts while providing quality guest facilities. The ground level has two self contained studios with queen beds and en suites (one with disabled shower). The friendly, helpful owner occupies the middle level and the top level offers 3 queen en suite rooms and one en suite room with single beds. All rooms open onto a spacious,shared lounge with wide-screen TV & free internet. Guests have their own fully equipped, modern kitchen stocked with provisions to make their own breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

I have had to travel to Whangarei for business several times over the past six months. I was very disappointed in the offerings in lodging. I found the offerings to be dated/expensive for just OK accommodations. Pilgrim Planet completely changed my outlook on having to lodge/work in Whangarei. It is very nice and reasonably priced. Not a typical B&B, as you make your own meals if you so desire (breakfast foods provided), but in my book it is a set-up that meets my needs/likes better than a B&B - it is more of a nice "guest house". The whole facility is less than two years old, and is set up to accommodate a business or holiday traveler, or a large group as well. There are six separate rooms, all with nice bathrooms en-suite. Two rooms have their own private exterior entrance. The living areas and lounge are large, welcoming, and relaxing. Big LCD TV with lots of channels, free wi-fi, etc. There is a large, nicely appointed kitchen and eating area that is separate from the owners/host living/kitchen. Lots of nice touches throughout. The owners/host's, Mike and Karen Ruskin are terrific and friendly, but also willing to give you as much space as you need. They live on a separate, all inclusive level. I have to travel for biz to Whangarei for business for the foreseeable future and will definitely be staying here.

  • Liked — Very nice rooms and facilities at decent rate.
  • Disliked — Hmmm.... can't think of anything.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pilgrim Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim Planet

Address: 63 Hatea Drive, Whangarei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B&B guesthouse in central Whangarei offering modern accommodation. Full kitchen available plus we are only a few minutes' walk to Whangarei shops, restaurants and the Town Basin. Easy access to the north for day activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Pilgrim Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilgrim Planet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.