We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect relaxed and friendly honeymoon destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brantome Villa

Save Saved
You added Brantome Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brantome Villa
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   454 Crane Road, Whangarei 0185NZ, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Wellington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect relaxed and friendly honeymoon destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We were looking for a honeymoon location where we could relax after all the preparation for the wedding. Somewhere we could enjoy both the beaches of the Bay of Islands and the cafes and galleries of Whangerei - or just do nothing but sit in the garden! Brantome Villa was perfect. The room had the biggest, most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The clean, modern and luxurious room (1 of only 2 at the property) was separated from the main house by an enclosed corridor, so it felt private - yet you could still paddle into breakfast in dressing gown and slippers! Breakfasts were great. Best of all was Roger and Valerie's hospitality. They treated us like old friends when we wanted company and gave us all the privacy we desired when we wanted time alone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
49
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of wight
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay at Brantome Villa.
The House is situated in an idyllic setting surrounded by mountains and a beautiful lake ( which was great to sit by in the evening and watch the sun set).
The Town basin is only a short car journey away, as are all the local amenities.
Our stay was met by gracious hosts Valerie and Roger, who made us feel really welcome, They were very helpful and met all our needs, the meals were fantastic, especially the homemade apple crumble, (apples freshly picked from the garden) that is a must!
A warm friendly atmosphere, I would highly recommend!

  • Liked — peaceful
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Our stay at Brantome villa was top class.
Meals were excellent along with great service
hosted by Roger & Valerie. Nice setting with
good views. "Tim & Robbie Perth Australia"

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed at Brantome Villa for 2 nights in early January. Valerie & Roger are friendly and obliging hosts who provide a well appointed, clean and tidy facility. Dinner and breakfasts were just perfect. They are only too happy to reccommend activities/sights in the Whangarei area. The setting is excellent - bird life on the pond wonderful ... a great place to share a bottle of wine on the front deck!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We spent 2 nights at Brantome Villa while visiting the Bay of Islands area of New Zealand. I can't say enough about the warmth and hospitality we experienced from Valerie and Roger, our hosts.
Add to that, the wonderful accommodations. Our room was beautifully appointed with exceptional linens and furnishings. The bathroom had great fixtures and the towels and robes were of the finest quality.

The setting at Brantome is gorgeous - surrounded by beautiful verdant hills, the large lawns, with a gazebo, roll down to a lovely lake. All this can be viewed from inside the villa or from the surrounding porch with multiple seating areas.

Breakfast was yummy, but again I must comment on the graciousness of our hosts. All this beauty wouldn't have meant as much without their charm.

Thank you Valerie and Roger, hope we will be back!

P & D

  • Liked — luxury accommodations and hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brantome Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantome Villa

Address: 454 Crane Road, Whangarei 0185NZ, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brantome Villa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two very comfortable Suites, each consisting of: a bedroom; with super-king beds, option in King Lakeview Suite to have another bedroom with Queen bed & shower room, this is ideal for 2 couples traveling or couples who like their own space. Both suites have their own private lounge. Complimentary Full Breakfast & Wi-Fi. The King Lakeview Suite overlooks the garden & lake. The King Garden Suite overlooks a peaceful garden. The property is set in an one & a half acres of park-like gardens, bordering a lake. There is seating around the garden for you to enjoy the peace & quiet, listen to the ducks & tui's amongst other birds, quietly watch rabbits & Pukekos going about their day Here at Brantome Villa we pride ourselves on giving you a 5 star service. If your looking for luxury accommodation in the Whangarei area this is it! Roger & I look forward to meeting you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Brantome Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brantome Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.