We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to end our visit to New Zealand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brantome Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Brantome Villa to your Saves list
Brantome Villa
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   454 Crane Road, Whangarei 0185NZ, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 32 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best way to end our visit to New Zealand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Brantome Villa is a lovely villa with great hosts in superb surroundings. The Queen Room was just perfect, all facilities provided were excellent. Breakfast and dinner were freshly prepared and lovely. The hosts have a big heart for their guests and accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
49
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Brantome Villa over Xmas and it was one of our most memorable. We stayed in the suite overlooking the beautiful lake. Sunsets are really lovely as the sun goes down over the lake and you can watch them from your room or veranda.

The standard and cleanliness of the rooms was the best we've ever experienced. A designer bathroom, with a generous bedroom with queen size bed, a full size living room with large leather sofa and widescreen tv, a really useful sink/mini kitchen area and a large entrance hall. Unlike many 5 star places, everything in our room was gratis. The comfortable beds and the standard of linen gave us very high quality sleep over the 4 days we were there.

Roger and Valerie were amazing hosts. From the drive up to the villa to us leaving, their service and friendliness was excellent. Breakfast was a very nice experience in itself, with a choice of cereal, fruit, juice, etc - before a cooked breakfast of your choice, followed by a freshly cooked muffin or danish. If you need anything else, you just had to ask and they would provide it.

The villa is set in immaculately kept gardens surrounding a beautiful lake. There's also your own outside area to eat or relax, and a nice gazebo at the side of the lake - a lovely place to go and have a drink or eat your lunch. The location of the villa was ideal for either traveling to Whangerei (10 mins) or for traveling to the countryside or coast (20 mins to Tutukaka coves and beaches). The villa is in a very quiet area, which made it very easy to relax.

Undoubtedly one of the best places we've stayed at and we will return the next time we need to de-stress and properly unwind. Top class!

Room Tip: Choose a suite. The additional cost is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The B&B is set in a lovely location, overlooking a small lake. I was upgraded to the lakeview roon and so had a separate lounge area with views onto the lake.

The property is about 10 minutes drive into town, so make sure you get directions on how to get there.

The room was very clean and comfortable.

The hosts (an English couple) were lovely and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was very filling, with cereal, toast, eggs and bacon as well as freshly squeezed juice and tea / coffee.

Really good value for what you get compared to some other hotels in NZ.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had an absolute fantastic time here - we have stayed in many locations and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Brantome Villa 2 nights and wished we had been able to stay longer. Both of us are birders, and there were plenty of birds to see in this lovely natural setting with its wide expanse of lawn, lovely flowers and trees, and a breathtaking pond. The delicious breakfasts are a treat, and the room was very pleasant with a great view and spotlessly clean. The villa is close enough to town yet it has a relaxed, peaceful country atmosphere. But it is Roger and Valerie who really make this villa so special. They were wonderful hosts, very friendly and accommodating, and they made us feel right at home.
Ed and Barb

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Great place to stay in whangarei and cheap relative to other places in the area. They understand what international travelers want in a place to stay.

Room Tip: Breakfast was really great. Make sure you book dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at Brantome Villa for five nights of peace during a pretty hectic schedule following the World Cup and visiting old friends. We could not have made a better choice. The villa is immaculate, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. As always, it is the people that really make a place stand out and Roger and Valerie are brilliant hosts, so friendly, kind and helpful. They put us in the suite because they thought we could do with the extra space seeing we were staying for five nights and it was just fantastic. Sitting in the evening, watching the sun set over the lake is a memory that will last a long time. Breakfast is first class, with the same beautiful view over the lake - it certainly set us up well for the day ahead. I don't usually eat a cooked breakfast but I couldn't resist! Brantome Villa is brilliantly situated for touring the area. An easy drive up to the Bay of Islands, we also headed over to the west coast and the beaches north of Whangarei are just stunning. After a good day out, it was lovely coming back to the peaceful haven of Brantome Villa and enjoying our lovely suite. A huge thank you to Roger and Valerie, you should be so proud of the beautiful place you have created.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but if you want a little extra space, the suite if first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brantome Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantome Villa

Address: 454 Crane Road, Whangarei 0185NZ, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brantome Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two very comfortable Suites, each consisting of: a bedroom; with super-king beds, option in King Lakeview Suite to have another bedroom with Queen bed & shower room, this is ideal for 2 couples traveling or couples who like their own space. Both suites have their own private lounge. Complimentary Full Breakfast & Wi-Fi. The King Lakeview Suite overlooks the garden & lake. The King Garden Suite overlooks a peaceful garden. The property is set in an one & a half acres of park-like gardens, bordering a lake. There is seating around the garden for you to enjoy the peace & quiet, listen to the ducks & tui's amongst other birds, quietly watch rabbits & Pukekos going about their day Here at Brantome Villa we pride ourselves on giving you a 5 star service. If your looking for luxury accommodation in the Whangarei area this is it! Roger & I look forward to meeting you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brantome Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brantome Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.