We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stellar Restaurant & Bar

Stellar Restaurant & Bar
2 Victoria Ave, Wanganui 5001, New Zealand
(06) 345-7278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 63 Restaurants in Wanganui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

From the moment that we walked in to the bar, we were welcomed by Pete the managerand although we had only popped infor a quick drink, we decided to stay for a meal. The food was very nice and the service was friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Watering Hole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A great place for afterwork drinks. Loved the big corner table where we could watch both sports on one screen, and music videos on the other.

No luck with the pokies but a good time out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
“Quiz Night Fundraiser”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Westmere PTA held a quiz night at Stellar to raise money to repair our school pool. We had a committee member that had attended a Stellar quiz night and she came to a meeting and told us what a fantastic night it was and how it was a great way to raise funds. Pete and his team took on a huge part of the organisation of the actual Quiz which left us with time to really focus on getting donations and sponsorship for the night. We had lot's of feedback saying that it was a really fun night and raised approximately $2,500. A huge thanks to Peter for all your help organising the event and for being an excellent quizmaster and keeping the evening running smoothly. The success of this night will go a long way to getting our pool back up and running.
Nadine Corcoran- Westmere School PTA

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Really nice food, recommend the wood fired pizza. Unfortunately the toilet plumbing lets this place down. Has a nice atmosphere at night but stay away from using the loos. Service is adequate, nothing to rave about.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Often eat at this restaurant. Service and food always great. The menu caterers for all tastes.
If you want a satisfying experience than Stellar's is the place to go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stellar Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Stellar Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stellar Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.